

## NEVVS RELEASE

## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE April 5, 2016

Contact: Maureen Thielemans 703-739-2330 ext. 1022

## AACP Announces Recipients of Awards in Research, Teaching and Scholarship

Alexandria, Va. — The American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy today announced the recipients of its awards that recognize five individuals who are preparing pharmacy graduates for new roles in patient-centered healthcare teams. Recipients will be honored at AACP's annual meeting, *Pharmacy Education 2016*, July 23-27, in Anaheim, Calif.

The awards acknowledge outstanding contributions made to pharmacy education, research, patient outcomes and scholarly publication. Recipients are:

- Terry L. Schwinghammer, Pharm.D., of West Virginia University, will receive the Robert K. Chalmers
   Distinguished Pharmacy Educator Award recognizing his outstanding achievements as an educator
   and mentor, his innovations in the classroom, and his overall impact on pharmacy education and the
   profession.
- Albert Wertheimer, Ph.D., of Temple University, will receive the Paul R. Dawson Award recognizing
  his exceptional contributions to teaching and scholarship that have positively impacted the quality of
  patient outcomes.
- Julie A. Johnson, Pharm.D., of the University of Florida, will receive the Volwiler Research
   Achievement Award recognizing her record of sustained excellence in research in a given area of the
   pharmaceutical and clinical sciences, pharmacy practice and the social and administrative sciences,
   and for outstanding contributions to the respective disciplines.
- "Towards an Operational Definition of Clinical Competency in Pharmacy" by L. Douglas Ried, Ph.D., of the University of Texas at Tyler, and Charles A. Douglas, Ph.D., MBA, of Texas A&M Health Science Center, will receive the **Rufus A. Lyman Award**, which recognizes the best paper published in the *American Journal of Pharmaceutical Education* during the previous year.

"The stellar list of recipients for these top AACP awards is reflective of both the commitment to excellence in education and research, and the diversity of AACP's members," said AACP Executive Vice President and CEO Lucinda L. Maine, Ph.D., R.Ph. "From genomics to faculty leadership, the scholarship of learning and health services research, Drs. Johnson, Schwinghammer, Ried, Douglas and Wertheimer represent the 'best of' pharmacy education."

AACP will present the Chalmers award during the Opening General Session on Sunday, July 24. The Dawson and Volwiler awards will be presented during the Science Symposium on Monday, July 25, and the Lyman Award will be presented during the Tuesday General Session on July 26.

For more information about *Pharmacy Education 2016*, visit www.aacp.org/PharmEd16.

About AACP



## NEVVS RELEASE

Founded in 1900, AACP is the national organization representing the interests of pharmacy education. AACP is comprised of 135 accredited colleges and schools with pharmacy degree programs, including more than 6,600 faculty, 64,400 students enrolled in professional programs and 5,800 individuals pursuing graduate study. To learn more about AACP, visit <a href="https://www.aacp.org">www.aacp.org</a>.