Innovations in Teaching Competition

AACP Online Awards Submission
Award for Excellence in Assessment
Lawrence C. Weaver Transformative Community Service Award
Innovations in Teaching Competition
Paul R. Dawson Award
Robert K. Chalmers Distinguished Pharmacy Educator Award
Rufus A. Lyman Award
Student Community Engaged Service Award
Volwiler Research Achievement Award
Master Preceptor Recognition Program
Distinguished Teaching Scholar Award

Innovations in Teaching Competition 

The purposes of the Innovations in Teaching Competition are to identify innovative teaching and learning strategies and assessment methods, provide an opportunity to engage faculty in a process of documenting their scholarly approach to teaching and learning, and provide an opportunity for up to three selected faculty, or teams, to present their work during a special session at the AACP Annual Meeting in July of each year. Each of the three faculty/teams selected to present their innovations are provided a stipend of up to $1200 to defray the costs of registration, travel and accommodations to attend the Annual Meeting.

AACP is now accepting applications for the 2016 Innovations in Teaching Competition. You may submit your letter of intent for this award by completing the online submission form no later than October 14, 2015, at 5:00 p.m. EST. If you have any questions, please contact Michelle Assa-Eley.

New in 2016

For the 2016 Competition, the application process will be done in two steps.  First, a two-page letter of intent will be submitted for review.  This will enable applicants to receive feedback from reviewers prior to completing the entire portfolio.  Complete portfolios will be due in February, 2016 for complete review.

Submissions may now include innovative approaches to education in a College/School of Pharmacy course, continuing professional education program, residency or preceptor education, or faculty development.

Application Timeline

  • October 14, 2015 Letter of Intent Deadline
  • December 2, 2015 Comments from Reviewers Sent to Applicants
  • February 17, 2016 Complete Portfolio Deadline
  • April 2016  Notification of Award Winners

2016 Innovations in Teaching Competition Description

2016 Innovations in Teaching Competition Review Criteria


Click here to view past winners.

Last updated on: 8/27/2015 9:20 AM 

© 2016 American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy
1727 King Street | Alexandria, VA  22314 | (703) 739-2330 | Fax: (703) 836-8982 |