Paul R. Dawson Biotechnology Award

AACP Online Awards Submission
Award for Excellence in Assessment
Lawrence C. Weaver Transformative Community Service Award
Innovations in Teaching Competition
Paul R. Dawson Biotechnology Award
Robert K. Chalmers Distinguished Pharmacy Educator Award
Rufus A. Lyman Award
Student Community Engaged Service Award
Volwiler Research Achievement Award
Master Preceptor Recognition Program

Paul R. Dawson Biotechnology Award 

The Paul R. Dawson Biotechnology Award consists of an art glass double helix sculpture and a $10,000 cash prize and is sponsored by Amgen in honor of its former Vice President of Marketing and Sales Paul R. Dawson, a staunch supporter of education in biotechnology. The intent of the award is to recognize annually an active scientist within the ranks of pharmacy education recognized by his or her peers as one of the leaders in the contemporary teaching of and scholarship in biotechnology and its related science.

Biotechnology includes, but not limited to, genetic engineering, proteomics, metabolomics, pharmacogenomics, computational biology, expression systems, pharmacokinetics/pharmacodynamics/ delivery/targeting/pharmacotherapeutics of drugs, hormones, cells, genes and antibodies, transporter function, biomaterials, transgenic technology, nucleic acid therapeutics, nanobiotechnology, applied immunology, biosensors and analytical biotechnology and regenerative medicine.

Any AACP member may submit nominations for this award by completing the online submission form no later than Dec. 4, 2013 at 11:59 p.m. PST, identified with the appropriate award title. Please contact Melinda D. Colón, associate director of governance programs and meetings, with any questions.

The award winners will be announced by the AACP Board of Directors in spring 2014, and published in Academic Pharmacy Now and on the Web site. They will also be honored during the 2014 Annual Meeting in Grapevine, Texas.

2014 Paul R. Dawson Biotechnology Award - Eligibility criteria, nomination instructions and selection procedures.

Past Award Recipients

2013 - Alexander S. Mankin, Ph.D.

2012 - Tejal A. Desai, Ph.D.

2010 - Harold L. Kohn, Ph.D.

2009 - Rodney J. Ho, Ph.D.

2008 - Laurence H. Hurley, Ph.D. 

© 2014 American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy
1727 King Street | Alexandria, VA  22314 | (703) 739-2330 | Fax: (703) 836-8982 |