Speaker Bios

Speaker Bios

Speaker Bios 

Diane E. Beck, Pharm.D. 

Diane E. Beck, Pharm.D., is currently professor and associate dean for curricular affairs and accreditation at the University of Florida College of Pharmacy. From 1979 to 2004, Dr. Beck was a faculty member at Auburn University Harrison School of Pharmacy and is now professor emeritus at that institution. Dr. Beck received both her B.S. and Pharm.D. degrees from University of Florida. Her professional practice experiences include providing pharmacy consultations in a pediatric neurology clinic, leading a Pharmacokinetic Consultation Service and serving as a clinical specialist in a trauma-intensive care unit.

During her career, Dr. Beck has fulfilled a variety of administrative responsibilities including implementation of educational initiatives and oversight of the Introductory and Advanced Practice Experience Programs implementation of an outcomes assessment program. Her current research and scholarship interests include: assessment, distance education and curricular innovations. She was the 1990 Lyman Award Recipient and in July 2004, Dr. Beck received the AACP Robert A. Chalmers Distinguished Pharmacy Educator Award.

Her prior leadership activities with AACP include serving as president in 2005-06 and serving on the AACP Board of Directors two times. She has also held a variety of leadership positions at the committee, section and council levels. Faculty development leadership experiences include serving as a facilitator at multiple AACP Curriculum Institutes and leading development of the AACP Primer for New Faculty. Dr. Beck is also an author of the Education Scholar program, which is designed to assist health professions faculty in achieving the scholarship of teaching.


Craig D. Cox, Pharm.D., BCPS

Dr. Craig D. Cox is an associate professor of pharmacy practice and vice chair of experiential programs at Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center School of Pharmacy (TTUHSC SOP) in Lubbock, Texas. He received his Pharm.D. from Washington State University in 1999 and then completed a Critical Care Specialty Residency at TTUHSC SOP in 2000. As a faculty member since 2000, Dr. Cox has taught in multiple pharmacotherapy and case studies courses and has served as director of the Pharmacotherapy Residency Program from 2005-2009. As a member of the Texas Pharmacy Congress, Dr. Cox serves on the Joint Commission of Internship Programs, meeting quarterly to discuss issues related to experiential education in the state of Texas.

Since 2005, as vice chair of experiential programs, Dr. Cox has been responsible for six staff members and coordination of IPPE and APPE rotations across four distant campuses. He has played an integral role in transitioning rotation assessments from a paper-based to an electronic system at his institution. His current practice site is on the adult medicine ward at University Medical Center where he has provided 6-week rotation experiences to more than 170 IPPE and APPE students. For his role with experiential programs at his institution, he has been awarded the AACP Crystal APPLE award recognizing excellence in experiential education in both 2007 and 2008. His interests include improving the availability and quality of preceptor training programs, and implementation of continuing professional development (CPD) principles through both student and preceptor portfolios.


Lori J. Duke, Pharm.D.

Dr. Lori J. Duke graduated from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill with a Doctor of Pharmacy degree in 1989. She completed a specialty residency in critical care pharmacy at The Medical College of Virginia Hospitals in Richmond, Va. Following her residency, Dr. Duke completed a two-year fellowship in critical care pharmacy at The Medical College of Virginia/Virginia Commonwealth University in Richmond, Va. 

In 1992, Dr. Duke jointed the faculty at The University of Texas at Austin College of Pharmacy. Her primary location was at the satellite campus at The University of Texas Health Science Center in San Antonio. She held the title of clinical assistant professor at The University of Texas and The University of Texas Health Science Center in San Antonio. In 1997, Dr. Duke became director of experience programs at The University of Georgia College of Pharmacy in Athens, Ga. She was promoted to assistant dean of experience programs in 2001. Dr. Duke currently leads an experiential division of seven faculty and three-and-a-half staff members.

Dr. Duke was a founding member of the Southeastern Pharmacy Experiential Education Consortium (SPEEC) and led this group from 2003-2006. She continues to be an active member of this group. Dr. Duke has been involved in AACP through participation in various experiential education committees, institute meetings and completion of the Academic Leadership Fellow Program in 2006-2007. She was also co-recipient of the Rufus A. Lyman Award in 2007. 


Ruth E. Nemire, Pharm.D.

Dr. Ruth E. Nemire is professor and associate dean for professional education and community engagement at Touro College of Pharmacy-New York. She is responsible for the oversight of the professional practice experience curriculum, and for the development of partnerships and community projects in the Harlem and surrounding community. 

Dr. Nemire is a graduate of the Ohio Northern University and The University of Toledo Colleges of Pharmacy. She completed formal fellowship training in neurology with an emphasis in epilepsy at the University of Miami College of Medicine in Miami, Fla. Dr. Nemire completed a Doctorate in Education with a major in higher education leadership at the Nova Southeastern University Fischler School of Education in December 2009.

Her academic and research endeavors include being named the first director of research at the Center for Neurology Studies in Lubbock, Texas and assistant professor of neurology at the Texas Tech University Medical School. In addition to development and leadership of the center, Dr. Nemire participated as an investigator in multiple drug trials for treatment of Alzheimer’s, Parkinson’s disease, migraine and epilepsy. In 1997 she accepted a position at the Nova Southeastern University College of Pharmacy in the Department of Pharmacy Practice. Dr. Nemire served as a director of clinical education, director for community engagement and associate professor during her 10 years at the college. Her teaching and research interests are reflective of her education and training in the areas of neurology, epilepsy, education and technology.

Last updated on: 8/26/2010 12:50 PM 

© 2017 American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy
1727 King Street | Alexandria, VA  22314 | (703) 739-2330 | Fax: (703) 836-8982 | mail@aacp.org