April 2017

American Journal of Pharmaceutical Education
Academic Pharmacy Now
Faculty News
July/August 2016
June 2016
May 2016
April 2016
March 2016
February 2016
January 2016
December 2015
November 2015
September 2016
October 2016
November 2016
December 2016
January 2017
February 2017
March 2017
April 2017
Summer 2017
AACP E-lert Newsletters
Media Room
Advertise With Us
2017 Annual Report
Healthy Starts Here

April 2017 

Purdue University


Marlene O. Heeg received $50,000 from Abbvie Inc. for “2016-2017 Joint Perspectives: Unmet Needs in the Treatment of Psoriatic Arthritis, an on-Demand Series.”

Jean-Christoph Rochet received $66,706 from Michael J. Fox Foundation for “Neuroprotective Effects of Endosulfine-Alpha in PD Models.”

Alan J. Zillich received $510,448 from Eskenazi Health for “Co-Funded Position in Adult Medicine with Eskenazi Hospital.”

University of Saskatchewan College of Pharmacy and Nutrition


Ekaterina Dadachova was awarded $340, 837.50 USD from the Defense Threat Reduction Agency for the project “Investigation of radiation resistance mechanisms in melanised fungi.”

Jonathan Dimmock received a three-year $270,000 grant from the Maunders McNeil Foundation for the project “Creation of tumour-selective compounds.”

Anas El-Aneed was awarded $190,000 over three years from the Saskatchewan Ministry of Agriculture’s Agriculture Development Fund to study high value bioactives and vitamins from canola crush waste stream.

Charity Evans (principal investigator), with co-investigator David Blackburn and their colleagues, were awarded $282,865 over three years from the Canadian Institutes of Health Research for their project titled “Medication adherence in multiple sclerosis: a model for other chronic diseases.”

Jim Fang was awarded a $196,000 grant from the Agriculture Development Fund for the project “Longer-Term Effects of Saskatoon Berries in Elderly – A Placebo Controlled Study.”

Thomas Rotter is the nominated provincial principal investigator on a one-year project titled “Interventions and Policies Influencing Primary Healthcare Professionals Managing Chronic Diseases: An Evidence Synthesis.”

Meena Sakharkar was awarded a $121,000 grant from the Agriculture Development Fund and SaskMilk for the project “Treatment of Mastitis Infections in Dairy Cattle.” Sakharkar also received a five-year $145,000 Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada Discovery Grant for the project “Understanding the transcriptional role of PPAR gamma in metabolic rewiring.”

Hassan Vatanparast was awarded a University of Saskatchewan President’s Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada for The Impact of Socio-Economic, Geography and Cultural Factors on Household Food Insecurity of Syrian Refugees Resettled in Rural Areas and Small Cities across Saskatchewan.

Vatanparast is also part of a $1.5 million 38-month project funded by the Public Health Agency of Canada, “Achieving Healthier Weights in Canada’s Communities.” This is the third phase of the Healthy Start/Départ Santé project led by the Réseau Santé en Français de la Saskatchewan.

Kishor M. Wasan was awarded $119,856 over three years from the Saskatchewan Health Research Foundation for his project titled “Chronic in vivo study of lanthanide compounds in an osteoporosis model (OVX rat) for the treatment of bone density disorders.”


Roy Dobson was promoted to full professor.

Charity Evans was promoted with tenure to associate professor.

Derek Jorgenson was promoted to full professor.

Thomas Rotter was promoted to associate professor.

Ellen Wasan was renewed as an assistant professor.

Virginia Commonwealth University


Cindy Kirkwood has been appointed to the AACP Council of Deans/Council of Faculties Performance Accountability Team for the JCPP Pharmacist Patient Care Process.


Eric Parod received an honorable mention in the outcomes research category of the American College of Cardiology’s Young Investigator Awards competition.

Emily Peron and third-year Pharm.D. student Matthew Hornsby have been selected to participate in the 2017 AACP Walmart Scholar program.


Norman V. Carroll, Indivior, to direct a two-year postdoctoral fellowship in pharmacoeconomics and health outcomes research, $238,884.

David Holdford, Pfizer, “Indirect Economic Burden of Sickle Cell Disease,” $53,604.

Aaron May, VCU CCTR Endowment Fund, “Synthesis and Biological Evaluation of Guadinomine Analogs,” $50,000.

MaryPeace McRae, VCU CCTR Endowment Fund, “Understanding the Interactions of HIV and Morphine on Therapeutic Drug Penetration Into the Brain,” $38,000.

Martin Safo, National Institutes of Health, X-ray crystallographic data collection system, $600,000. 

© 2017 American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy
1727 King Street | Alexandria, VA  22314 | (703) 739-2330 | Fax: (703) 836-8982 | mail@aacp.org