Distinguished Teaching Scholar Award

AACP Online Awards Submission
Award for Excellence in Assessment
Lawrence C. Weaver Transformative Community Service Award
Innovations in Teaching Competition
Paul R. Dawson Award for Excellence in Patient Care Research
Robert K. Chalmers Distinguished Pharmacy Educator Award
Rufus A. Lyman Award
Student Community Engaged Service Award
Volwiler Research Achievement Award
Master Preceptor Recognition Program
Distinguished Teaching Scholar Award
Lifetime Achievement Award
Emerging Teaching Scholar Award

Distinguished Teaching Scholar Award 

The AACP Distinguished Teaching Scholar Award is designed to recognize excellence of our academic pharmacy faculty engaged in and/or supporting scholarly teaching and the scholarship of teaching and learning. According to Richlin (2001), Scholarly Teaching is a process that involves observing a teaching-learning problem or opportunity, consulting literature, selecting and applying an educational intervention, conducting systematic observation, documenting observations, analyzing results and obtaining peer evaluation. The Scholarship of Teaching and Learning builds on the end product of Scholarly Teaching and involves identifying key issues from the scholarly teaching, analyzing results and putting them into the context of the existing knowledge base. Once a venue for dissemination is chosen (i.e., presentation and/or publication), peer review is conducted on the manuscript or proposal (Richlin, 2001).

AACP Distinguished Teaching Scholars will serve as models for advancing the profession of pharmacy through education by enhancing student learning and the knowledge base of teaching and learning in professional and/or graduate pharmacy education. The results of their example and efforts will challenge our academic pharmacy institutions to foster cultures that support and advance scholarly teaching and the scholarship of teaching and learning.

Any AACP member may submit nominations for this award by completing the online submission form no later than Wednesday, Dec. 13, 2017 at 11:59 p.m. PT, identified with the appropriate award title. Please contact Melinda D. Colón, director of governance programs and meetings, with any questions.

The award winners will be announced in spring 2018 and on the Web site. They will also be honored during the 2018 Annual Meeting in Boston, Massachusetts.

Distinguished Teaching Scholar Award  - Eligibility criteria, nomination instructions and selection procedure.

Distinguished Teaching Scholar Award FAQs


Past Award Recipients


Jeff J. Cain, Ed.D.

Adam M. Persky, Ph.D.



Naser Z. Alsharif, Pharm.D., Ph.D.

David A. Holdford, Ph.D.

Melissa S. Medina, Ed.D.

Reza Mehvar, Pharm.D., Ph.D.

Last updated on: 6/27/2017 7:24 AM 

© 2017 American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy
1727 King Street | Alexandria, VA  22314 | (703) 739-2330 | Fax: (703) 836-8982 | mail@aacp.org