Emerging Teaching Scholar Award

AACP Online Awards Submission
Award for Excellence in Assessment
Lawrence C. Weaver Transformative Community Service Award
Innovations in Teaching Competition
Paul R. Dawson Award for Excellence in Patient Care Research
Robert K. Chalmers Distinguished Pharmacy Educator Award
Rufus A. Lyman Award
Student Community Engaged Service Award
Volwiler Research Achievement Award
Master Preceptor Recognition Program
Distinguished Teaching Scholar Award
Lifetime Achievement Award
Emerging Teaching Scholar Award

Emerging Teaching Scholar Award 

The AACP Council of Faculties (COF) Emerging Teaching Scholar Award is designed to recognize excellence of our academic pharmacy faculty engaged in and/or supporting scholarly teaching and the scholarship of teaching and learning. In recognizing service and outstanding contributions to our academy, pharmacy education and schools, the AACP COF Emerging Teaching Scholars will raise the bar for scholarly teaching and the scholarship of teaching and learning. Due to the prestigious nature of this award, up to five (5) AACP Emerging Teaching Scholars will be selected each year.


Nominees may be any faculty academic rank at a college/schools of pharmacy. To be eligible for the award, nominees must:

  1. be a full member of the AACP Council of Faculties;
  2. have had at least three (3) scholarly works related to teaching and learning accepted in peer reviewed forums (e.g. peer-reviewed journal, peer-reviewed book or book chapter, peer-reviewed abstract for a poster or podium presentation at a professional meeting);
  3. be the first/primary author or creator of at least two (2) scholarly works related to teaching and learning; and 
  4. must have NO MORE than 8 years since first publically available scholarly work as a faculty member in the field of teaching and learning.

Nominations for this award may be made by any AACP member, including self-nomination, by completing the online submission form no later than February 8, 2018 at 11:59 PT.

Award winners will be announced in Spring, 2018. The AACP Emerging Teaching Scholars will receive their recognition during the COF Business Meeting at the AACP Annual Meeting.

Contact Michelle Assa-Eley, AACP Director of Education, with questions regarding the nomination or submission process.

Emerging Teaching Scholar Award Detailed Description, Eligibility and Evaluation

Emerging Teaching Scholar Award FAQ

2017 Award Recipients

Robert D. Beckett, Pharm.D., BCPS, Manchester University

Michelle Z. Farland, Pharm.D., BCPS, CDE, University of Florida

Jacqueline E. McLaughlin, Ph.D., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Lauren A. O'Donnell, Ph.D., Duquesne University

Last updated on: 10/6/2017 9:14 AM 

© 2017 American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy
1727 King Street | Alexandria, VA  22314 | (703) 739-2330 | Fax: (703) 836-8982 | mail@aacp.org