Paul R. Dawson Award for Excellence in Patient Care Research

AACP Online Awards Submission
Award for Excellence in Assessment
Lawrence C. Weaver Transformative Community Service Award
Innovations in Teaching Competition
Paul R. Dawson Award for Excellence in Patient Care Research
Robert K. Chalmers Distinguished Pharmacy Educator Award
Rufus A. Lyman Award
Student Community Engaged Service Award
Volwiler Research Achievement Award
Master Preceptor Recognition Program
Distinguished Teaching Scholar Award
Lifetime Achievement Award
Emerging Teaching Scholar Award

Paul R. Dawson Award for Excellence in Patient Care Research 

The Paul R. Dawson Award for Excellence in Patient Care Research consists of a glass sculpture and a $5,000 prize, and is endowed by Amgen in honor of its former Vice President of Marketing and Sales Paul R. Dawson. Since 2015, the Paul R. Dawson Award criteria include all research that has made sustained contributions to the quality of patient outcomes. The intent of the award is to recognize annually an active scientist within the ranks of pharmacy education as a leaders in the broad range of research related to health services delivery directly affecting patient outcomes, including basic, clinical, translational and health services research.

Any AACP member may submit nominations for this award by completing the online submission form no later than Wednesday, Dec. 6, 2017 at 11:59 p.m. PST, identified with the appropriate award title. Please contact Melinda D. Colón, director of governance programs and meetings, with any questions.

The award winners will be announced by the AACP Board of Directors in spring 2018, and published in Academic Pharmacy Now and on the Web site. They will also be honored during the 2018 Annual Meeting in Boston, Massachusetts.

2018 Paul R. Dawson Award - Eligibility criteria, nomination instructions and selection procedures.

Past Award Recipients

2017 - Eric W. Schmidt, Ph.D.

2016 - Albert I. Wertheimer, Ph.D.

2015 - Marie A. Chisholm-Burns, Pharm.D., M.P.H., MBA

2014 - Anil Gulati, M.D., Ph.D.

2013 - Alexander S. Mankin, Ph.D.

2012 - Tejal A. Desai, Ph.D.

2010 - Harold L. Kohn, Ph.D.

2009 - Rodney J. Ho, Ph.D.

2008 - Laurence H. Hurley, Ph.D. 

Last updated on: 7/27/2017 4:27 PM 

© 2017 American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy
1727 King Street | Alexandria, VA  22314 | (703) 739-2330 | Fax: (703) 836-8982 |