In Memoriam

2017 Issue 4
2017 Issue 3
2017 Issue 2
2017 Issue 1
2016 Issue 5
2016 Issue 4
2016 Issue 3
2016 Issue 2
2016 Issue 1
2015 Issue 5
2015 Issue 4
2015 Issue 3
2015 Issue 2
2015 Issue 1
Fall Winter 2013
Maine Message
News Briefs
In Memoriam
Will on the Hill: Congressional Q&A
Academy in Action
Around the World
A Complex Score With a Simple Outcome
Restocking the Women's Health Toolbox
Members Working For You: Managed Care Pharmacy Makes the Grade
Faculty News
School News Submission Form

In Memoriam 

Janet A. Amico

Dr. Janet A. Amico, professor of pharmaceutical sciences at the University of Pittsburgh School of Pharmacy, died March 23, 2013. Born in Kingston, Pa., Amico earned her B.S. from College Misericordia in Dallas, Pa., and her M.D. from what would later become the Drexel University School of Medicine. In 1975, she accepted an internship in internal medicine at the University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine, where she later trained in endocrinology and rose to the position of tenured professor of medicine in 1994. Amico received a secondary appointment as professor in the School of Pharmacy in 1999 and became dean for medical student research in 2009. Over her career, she authored or co-authored more than 100 peer-reviewed articles and co-edited the book Oxytocin, Clinical and Laboratory Studies with her mentor Alan Robinson in 1985. In addition to teaching, she was also an internationally-recognized investigator of the hormone oxytocin and was selected as one of the “Best Doctors in America” for several years.

Allan H. Conney

Dr. Allan H. Conney, pharmacologist and cancer researcher at Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey Ernest Mario School of Pharmacy, died Sept. 10, 2013. Born in Chicago, Conney earned his Ph.D. from the University of Wisconsin–Madison before joining Rutgers in 1987. Instrumental in the creation of the school’s Susan Lehman Cullman Laboratory for Cancer Research, Conney served as its director while holding the position of William M. and Myrle W. Garbe Professor of cancer and leukemia research. He was among the seven-most cited scientists in the world in pharmacological science from 1965–1978 and published more than 500 original articles over his career. He has earned much recognition for his work, including the Daniel Gorenstein Memorial Award, the Arnold J. Lehman Award from the Society of Toxicology, the Outstanding Investigator Award from the National Cancer Institute, the Ernest H. Volwiler Award from AACP and the IBM-Princess Takamatsu Cancer Research Fund Lecturer Award. A cancer research laboratory at the Guangdong University of Technology in Guangzhou, China was named in his honor.

Miles P. Hacker

Dr. Miles P. Hacker, professor of pharmacology and master teacher at The University of Toledo College of Pharmacy, died July 14, 2013. As an advisor for the school’s Bachelor of Science pharmaceutical sciences program, Hacker was instrumental in the program’s creation and curriculum development. He also made strides in establishing an experimental therapeutics doctoral degree. As a researcher, Hacker developed pixantrone, a cancer medication used to inhibit DNA synthesis of cancer cells. His expertise in pharmacology led to his co-authorship of the textbook Pharmacology: Principles and Practice. He was recognized with the Professor of the Year award for his service to the college.

Boka Hadzija

Dr. Boka Hadzija, professor emeritus at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Eshelman School of Pharmacy, passed away June 9, 2013. Hadzija earned her B.S., M.S. and doctoral degrees in pharmacy from the University of Zagreb in the former Yugoslavia. In order to escape conditions in her home country, Hadzija began to teach at the University of Science and Technology in Ghana, while conducting research at the University of London. She accepted a position at the University of North Carolina in 1971 and would go on to receive 39 awards during her career, including the C. Knox Massey Distinguished Award in 2005, and in 2007, the University Professor of Distinguished Teaching Award and Graduate School Dean’s Award for Significant Contributions to Graduate Education. Hadzija also created and funded an award in 2000 to recognize graduate and professional students committed to service to the university.

Edward T. Kelly III

Dr. Edward T. Kelly III, associate professor emeritus at the University of Connecticut School of Pharmacy, died Nov. 5, 2013. Kelly graduated from the Massachusetts College of Pharmacy with a B.S. in pharmacy in 1967 and an M.S. in pharmacy in 1969. After working in practice while earning his Ph.D. from The Ohio State University, Kelly joined the faculty at University of Connecticut in 1973. He served as the first department chair of pharmacy practice until his retirement in 2001. After his retirement, he returned to the Massachusetts College of Pharmacy as professor, assistant dean, and curriculum committee chair for an additional 10 years.

James T. Stewart

Dr. James T. Stewart, professor emeritus at The University of Georgia College of Pharmacy, died May 11, 2013. Born Dec. 1, 1938, Stewart received his Ph.D. in pharmaceutical chemistry from the University of Michigan in 1967 and accepted an academic position at Georgia the same year. Over his 35 years of teaching, he collaborated on research projects with pharmaceutical industrial firms and government bodies, and served on the Food Chemicals Codex Revision Committee, the Federal Drug Administration Pharmaceutical Science Advisory Committee and United States Pharmacopeia Board of Experts. In addition to his contributions for other textbooks, Stewart co-authored the Textbook of Biopharmaceutic Analysis. His work received many awards, including the 1990 Research Achievement Award in Pharmaceutical Analysis and Quality from the American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists, the 1998 Distinguished Alumnus Award from the Auburn University School of Pharmacy, and the 2002 Career Research Award from the Northeast Georgia American Chemical Society Section.

Robert L. Van Horne

Dr. Robert L. Van Horne, former dean of pharmacy at The University of Montana, passed away July 30, 2013. Born Dec. 26, 1915, in Malvern, Iowa, Van Horne earned his B.S. in pharmacy from The University of Iowa at Iowa City in 1941, while working a series of full-time day jobs. After graduating, he enlisted in the Navy and entered active duty at Columbia University’s Midshipman School. Following his deployment in World War II, he completed his M.S. and Ph.D. in pharmacy and pharmacognosy from the University of Iowa in 1949. Van Horne would teach at Iowa until 1956, when he accepted an invitation to serve as dean of pharmacy at The University of Montana. Van Horne served as dean until 1975, finally retiring in 1985. He was active in many organizations over his career, including AACP, the American Association for the Advancement of Science and the Montana Pharmaceutical Association.

Last updated on: 12/19/2013 2:44 PM 

© 2017 American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy
1727 King Street | Alexandria, VA  22314 | (703) 739-2330 | Fax: (703) 836-8982 |