April 2016

American Journal of Pharmaceutical Education
Academic Pharmacy Now
Faculty News
July/August 2016
June 2016
May 2016
April 2016
March 2016
February 2016
January 2016
December 2015
November 2015
September 2016
October 2016
November 2016
December 2016
January 2017
February 2017
March 2017
April 2017
Summer 2017
AACP E-lert Newsletters
Media Room
Advertise With Us
2017 Annual Report
Healthy Starts Here

April 2016 

Keck Graduate Institute


Ronald DeBellis was named chair of the American Pharmacists Association’s Academy of Pharmacy Practice and Management Special Interest Group Committee on Education.

Manchester University


Ahmed Abdelmageed was selected to serve as the 2015-2016 chair-elect of the Minority Faculty Special Interest Group for AACP. Ahmed will assume the section chair role in 2016-2017.

Carrie C. Hoefer, assistant professor, pharmacogenomics

Melissa M. Rasmussen, director of instructional design

Vaibhav Y. Mundra, assistant professor pharmaceutical sciences

Venkatareddy Nadithe, assistant professor pharmaceutical sciences

Purdue University


Karen S. Hudmon received the United States Public Health Service Excellence Award.

Margie Snyder received the American Pharmacists Association Community Pharmacy Residency Excellence in Precepting Award.


Marlene O. Heeg received $750,000 from Intercept Pharmaceuticals Inc. for “2015-16 CLDF EXPAND National Educational Initiative.”

Rodolfo Pinal received $35,000 from AstraZeneca AB for “Center for Pharmaceutical Processing Research Consortium.”

Lynne S. Taylor received $240,000 from Eli Lilly and Company for “Development of a Dual Dissolution/Membrane Transport in Vitro Test and Application to the Assessment of Enabled Formulations.” Taylor also received $427,025 from National Institute of Food & Agriculture for “Improving Thiamin (Vitamin B1) Delivery in Foods by Understanding its Physical and Chemical Stability in Natural Form and Enriched Products.”

Val J. Watts received $195,742 from PHS-NIH National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases for “New Mode-of-Action Chemistries for Mosquito Control.”

Kara D. Weatherman received $11,000 from Argonne National Laboratory for “Participation in a Human Factor Evaluation of the Northstar Technegen Instrument.”

Michael K. Wendt received $40,000 from Metavivor Research and Support Inc. for “Targeting Growth Factor Receptor Discordant Metastases.”

The University of Arizona College of Pharmacy


Lisa Davis was appointed professor in the Department of Pharmacy Practice and Science in January.

The University of Findlay College of Pharmacy


Ryan A. Schneider, chair, Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences

University of Illinois at Chicago College of Pharmacy


Keith Rodvold received funding from Theravance Biopharma Antibiotics Inc. for project "Pharmacokinetics of Telavancin in Normal and Obese Subjects.”

Joanna Burdette and Brian Murphy, co-principal investigators, received $359,775 from NIH/NCCIH for R01 grant "Botanical Derived Progestins and Their Impact on Women's Health.”

Sarah Michienzi and Renata Smith received $5,000 from the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists for their project "Pharmacist-Led Human Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV) Pre-Exposure Prophylaxis (PrEP) Clinic.”

Jim Wang received $404,011 from NIH/NHLBI for new R01 grant "Protein Kinase Mechanisms for Chronic Pain in Sickle Cell Disease.”

Hyunyoung Jeong received $39,950 from Indiana University for NIH/NIAID R21 project "Development of Anti-Virulence Drugs by Targeting the SaeRS Two Component System of Staphylococcus aureus.”

University of Maryland School of Pharmacy


Kashelle Lockman, Mary Lynn McPherson, and Kathryn Walker have been elected to the inaugural Board of Trustees for the Society of Palliative Care Pharmacists.

Mary Lynn McPherson has been named chair of the Society of Palliative Care Pharmacists” Education Committee.


Catherine Cooke received a one-year $78,566 subcontract from IMPAQ International for “Part D Enhanced Medication Therapy Management Technical Implementation Support.”

Stephen Hoag received a two-year $598,935 subcontract from the National Institute of Pharmaceutical Technology and Education for “Patient Acceptance of Drugs.”

Vijay Ivaturi received a five-year $500,000 contract from Upsher-Smith Laboratories for “Pharmacometric Support for a Neuro-oncology Drug Development Program.”

C. Daniel Mullins received a one-year $191,515 contract from AlphaNet Inc. for “Alpha-1 Antitrypsin Deficiency Costs and BIA.” He also received a one-year $138,144 contract from the University of Pennsylvania for “Pragmatic Clinical Trials of Proton vs Photon Therapy for Patients with Breast and Lung Cancer and a two-year $100,000 contract from the Maryland Citizens' Health Initiative Education Fund, Inc. for “Maryland Faith Community Health Network.”

Linda Simoni-Wastila received a 16-month $94,703 contract from the Maryland Health Care Commission for “Shared Savings Calculations.”


Gerald Rosen retired in January 2016 after 27 years on faculty at the school of pharmacy.

University of Saskatchewan


Shawna Berenbaum received a Teaching Excellence Award from the USSU.

Adil Nazarali was designated a fellow of the Royal Pharmaceutical Society of Great Britain.

Jaris Swidrovich received the 2015-16 USSU Engaged Young Alumni Award.

Kishor Wasan was selected for the Prix Galien Canada Jury.


Carol Henry, Susan Whiting, Anas El-Aneed and Kishor Wasan are part of a $37.2 million grant awarded to the University of Saskatchewan by the Canadian First Research Excellence Program to study food security.

The College of Pharmacy and Nutrition has received a $5 million endowed research chair in drug discovery and development funded by GSK Canada, Canadian Institutes of Health Research and the Saskatchewan Government.


Holly Mansell was reappointed as assistant professor.

Charity Evans was reappointed as assistant professor.

Azita Haddadi was promoted with tenure to associate professor.

Jason Perepelkin was promoted with tenure to associate professor

Virginia Commonwealth University


Kai Cheang was appointed by the Commonwealth of Virginia Chief Medical Examiner as a member and pharmacist representative for the Virginia Department of Health Mortality Review Team.

The Richmond Health & Wellness Program, with K.C. Ogbonna and Patricia Slattum, has been selected as one of five core concepts for VCU’s new iCubed initiative: the Health and Wellness in Aging Populations Transdisciplinary Core.

Benjamin Van Tassell is an American Society of Hypertension certified hypertension clinician.


© 2017 American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy
1727 King Street | Alexandria, VA  22314 | (703) 739-2330 | Fax: (703) 836-8982 | mail@aacp.org