July 2015

American Journal of Pharmaceutical Education
Academic Pharmacy Now
Faculty News
July/August 2016
June 2016
May 2016
April 2016
March 2016
February 2016
January 2016
December 2015
November 2015
September 2016
October 2016
November 2016
December 2016
January 2017
February 2017
March 2017
April 2017
Summer 2017
AACP E-lert Newsletters
Media Room
Advertise With Us
2017 Annual Report
Healthy Starts Here

July 2015 

Campbell University

Andy Bowman has been elected to the North Carolina Board of Pharmacy.

Purdue University

Yaman Kaakeh was certified as a certified nutrition support clinician through the National Board of Nutrition Support Certification.

Noll L. Campbell received $150,466 from PHS-NIH National Institute on Aging for Evaluating the Adverse Cognitive Effects of Medications.

Ryan M. Drenan received $305,256 from PHS-NIH National Institute on Drug Abuse for Nicotinic Acetylcholine Receptor Function in the Mesolimbic Dopamine System.

Robert L. Geahlen received $134,568 from University of Minnesota for Biosensor Assay to Screen for Signaling Pathway Inhibition in Cancer. He also received $331,447 from PHS-NIH National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases for Tyrosine Kinases and Lymphocyte Activation.

Tony R. Hazbun and Douglas J. LaCount received $308,950 from the National Institutes of Health for Octet Red 384 for Multi-Disciplinary Studies.

Marlene O. Heeg received $25,000 from Spectrum Pharmaceuticals for The Role of Novel Therapy in PTCL: A Patient-Centered Interdisciplinary Discussion. She also received $20,000 from Prometheus Laboratories Inc. for “2015 GiHF national Inflammatory Bowel Disease Educational Initiative;” and $200,000 from Janssen Scientific Affairs, $75,000 from Otsuka Chemical and $50,000 from Alkermes, Inc. for “Schizophrenia and Schizoaffective Disorder: Utilizing Tools to Optimize Outcomes Across the Spectrum of Acute to Maintenance Treatment.”

Additionally, Marlene O. Heeg received $87,500 from Celgene Corporation for “The Role of Novel Therapy in PTCL: a Patient-Centered Interdisciplinary Discussion” and $250,000 from Pfizer Inc. for “2015 National Education Initiative on Therapeutics & Rheumatology for Rheumatology State Societies.”

Douglas J. LaCount received $683,658 from PHS-NIH National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases for Emerging Virus-Host Cell Protein Interaction Networks.

Nicole L. Olenik received $1,200 from Fred Run Ltd. for Pharmacy Diabetes Education Program.

Rodolfo Pinal received $35,000 from AstraZeneca AB for Center for Pharmaceutical Processing Research Consortium.

Lynne S. Taylor received $209,103 from Nestle for Crystallization Inhibition in Food Components. She also received $468,559 from Abbvie Inc. for Understanding and Optimizing Dissolution Performance and Mitigation of Crystallization in High Drug Loading Amorphous Solid Dispersion Formulations.

Joseph Thomas received $34,990 from Pfizer Inc. for Sickle Cell Disease Cost of Treatment.

Elizabeth M. Topp received $70,297 from AbbVie Inc. for AbbVie/Purdue Development and Validation of Analytical Methods From Detection and Quantitation of Surfactant Proteins in Survanta. She also received $299,370 from Medimmune Inc. for Pyroglutamate Formation in Lyophilized Powders.

Yoon Yeo received $193,662 from National Science Foundation for Faculty Early Career Development (CAREER): Osmolyte-Guided Nanoparticle Transport for Effective Drug/Gene Delivery Across the Mucosal Barriers. She also received $193,750 from PHS-NIH National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases for Polysaccharide-Based Endotoxin Antagonist for the Treatment of Sepsis.

Yoon Yeo and Raymond E. Galinsky received $342,216 from PHS-NIH National Institute of Biomedical Imaging & Bioengineering for Environmentally-Adaptive Nanoparticles with Focal Irradiation for Cancer Therapy.

The University of Tennessee

Nancy Borja-Hart, associate professor of clinical pharmacy

James S. Wheeler, director of continuing professional development and assistant professor of clinical pharmacy

Marie A. Chisholm-Burns received the 2015 Clinician of Distinction Award from the American Society of Transplantation at the 2015 American Transplant Congress in Philadelphia.

Leslie A. Hamilton and Steve Foster received The University of Tennessee Health Science Center Student Government Association Executive Council Excellence in Teaching Awards for the College of Pharmacy.

George Wood received The University of Tennessee Health Science Center Student Government Association Executive Council Excellence in Teaching Award for the College of Graduate Health Sciences.

Rob Nolly received The University of Tennessee Alumni Association Distinguished Service Professor Award.

Kenneth C. Hohmeier, National Association of Chain Drug Stores Foundation Pharmacy Partners Program; $20,000; Operation Access: A Four-Part Effort to Expand Access to Community Pharmacy Services Across the State of Tennessee.

Duane D. Miller, professor and chair of pharmaceutical sciences

University at Buffalo, The State University of New York

Jennifer M. Hess, associate dean for admissions, enrollment planning and pre-pharmacy advising

Gene Morse led a University at Buffalo team in their acceptance as a Center of Excellence in Antiviral Clinical Pharmacology by the Global Virus Network Scientific Review Board.

Kathleen Tornatore-Morse was designated a fellow of the American Society of Transplantation.

Javier Blanco, renewal NIH R01 grant. Contribution of CBRs and AKRs to the Pharmacodynamics of Anthracycline Drugs. Total project funding for all years is $1,238,910.

University of Arizona

Robert Lipsy was inducted into the Arizona Pharmacy Association Hall of Fame and named an Arizona Pharmacy Association fellow.

Nicole Scovis received the 2015 Pharmacist of the Year Award from the Arizona Pharmacy Association.

University of Illinois at Chicago

Jonathan Huynh was hired in pharmacy practice as clinical instructor/clinical pharmacist.

Paul Stranges was hired in pharmacy practice as clinical assistant professor/clinical pharmacist.

Michael Johnson received $104,468 in funding as a subcontract principal investigator on NIH/NIAID R21 grant “Antibiotic Potentiation by Targeting of a Signal Transduction System” (University of Chicago).

Edith Nutescu received support from Roche Diagnostics for her project “Patient Centered Anticoagulation Self-Monitoring in Minority Patients.”

Virginia Commonwealth University

Marcia Buck will be installed as president-elect of the American College of Clinical Pharmacy at its 2015 Global Conference on Clinical Pharmacy in October.

Quamrun N. Masuda has been named assistant director, VCU School of Pharmacy Center for Compounding Practice and Research, effective August 28.

Victor A. Yanchick was presented an honorary doctor of laws degree by the Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine School of Pharmacy–Georgia Campus.

Kai Cheang, VCU Center for Clinical and Translational Research Endowment Fund, $129,986, “Lipid Metabolism and Embryo Quality in In Vitro Fertilization.”

© 2017 American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy
1727 King Street | Alexandria, VA  22314 | (703) 739-2330 | Fax: (703) 836-8982 | mail@aacp.org