November 2016

American Journal of Pharmaceutical Education
Academic Pharmacy Now
Faculty News
July/August 2016
June 2016
May 2016
April 2016
March 2016
February 2016
January 2016
December 2015
November 2015
September 2016
October 2016
November 2016
December 2016
January 2017
February 2017
March 2017
April 2017
Summer 2017
AACP E-lert Newsletters
Media Room
Advertise With Us
2017 Annual Report
Healthy Starts Here

November 2016 

Duquesne University


Angelo J. Greco received a $2,500 grant from the NACDS Foundation Faculty Scholars Program to complete a research project titled “Identifying Opportunities for Pharmacogenomics Testing to Improve the Safe and Effective Use of Medications for Patients Across a Regional Chain Community Pharmacy.” The results were presented as a poster at the AACP Annual Meeting in Anaheim, Calif.

Jamie McConaha received a grant for “Courage to Quit” tobacco cessation group classes from Tobacco Free Allegheny. Continuing funds of $1,000.00, thus bringing the grant total to $8,958.80. She also received funds for “Courage to Quit” group tobacco cessation classes from Pfizer Medical Education. Continuing funds of $10,000.00, thus bringing the grant total to $40,000.00.

Faculty and students from the School of Pharmacy continue to collaborate on a project aimed to improve the quality and safety of certain medications. The National Institute for Pharmaceutical Technology and Education recently awarded Duquesne $237,000 for its ongoing research on behalf of the U.S. Food and Drug Administration.

Purdue University


Marlene O. Heeg received $45,000 from Bristol-Myers Squibb Company for “2016-2017 Gala Hcv Resistance Meeting Series;”$30,000 from Bayer Pharmaceutical for “Peerview Inclinic Curriculum, Applying the Latest Evidence and Recommendations to Deliver Interdisciplinary, Patient-Centered Care to Patients with Castrate-Resistant Prostate Cancer in the Veterans;” and $200,000 from Pfizer Inc. for “2016 Arthros City Rounds Series.”

Additionally, Heeg received $200,000 from Novartis Pharmaceuticals Corporation and $400,000 from Genetech Corporation, Inc., for “MS Forum III: Charging Ahead: Latest Updates in Diagnosis, Management and Therapies on the Horizon.”

Rodolfo Pinal received $35,000 from Eli Lilly and Company for “Center for Pharmaceutical Processing Research Consortium.”

Gintaras V. Reklaitis received $330,000 from Long Island University for “Adaptive Statistical Methods for Category Specific Release Testing of Drug Products.”

Lynne S. Taylor received $125,000 from Pfizer Inc. for “Improved Mechanistic Understanding of Salt Disproportionation in Solid Oral Dosage Forms.”

Elizabeth M. Topp received $30,000 from Pancopia for “Lyophilization Development for Biological Wastewater Treatment.”

University of California, San Francisco


Michael Fischbach received the 2016 NIH Director’s Pioneer Award. This award will support Michael’s proposal to create a “complete map of the top 100 molecules from the gut microbiome.” He was also named an HHMI-Simons Faculty Scholar by the Howard Hughes Medical Institute and the Simons Foundation.

Kathy Giacomini was named the 2017 recipient of the Henry W. Elliott Distinguished Service Award from the American Society for Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics.

Virginia Commonwealth University


Gretchen Brophy is vice president of the Neurocritical Care Society and chairwoman of the 2017 Annual Meeting Committee.

Sharon Gatewood was elected a 2016-18 board member of the Virginia Pharmacists Association.

Leigh Anne Gravatt is chairwoman-elect of the ACCP Adult Medicine PRN.

Cindy Kirkwood has been appointed president-elect of the College of Psychiatric & Neurologic Pharmacists Foundation board of directors, effective in January.

Laura Morgan was appointed to a two-year term with the American Society of Addiction Medicine’s Pain & Addiction Common Threads Program Committee.

Kelechi “K.C.” Ogbonna has been named the school’s associate dean for admissions and student services.

Emily Peron is chairwoman-elect of the ACCP Geriatrics PRN. She also was invited to join the American Geriatrics Society Young Professionals Advisory Group.

Patty Slattum will receive ASCPT’s 2017 Mentor Award at the American Society for Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics’ annual meeting in March. 

Jeremy Stultz is chairman-elect of the ACCP Pediatrics PRN.

Benjamin Van Tassell was elected a fellow of the American Heart Association, an honor conferred by the Council on Basic Cardiovascular Sciences.


Dave Dixon received a 2016 Member Recognition Award from the ACCP Ambulatory Care PRN.

Craig Kirkwood received the 2016 Fred M. Eckel Pharmacy Leadership Award from the University of North Carolina Hospitals and Clinics Department of Pharmacy and the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Eshelman School of Pharmacy.


John Bucheit, Dave Dixon, Pramit Nadpara and Evan Sisson, ACCP Cardiology PRN Seed Grant, survey of advanced practice practitioners on how they have adopted the 2013 ACC Cholesterol Guidelines, $5,000.

Rong Huang, NIH National Institute of General Medical Science, $1.5 million, “Protein N-terminal Methylation Mechanisms and Inhibition.”

Amy Pakyz, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, “Development of NHSN’s AUR Data and SAAR to Support Antibiotic Benchmarking Program Among Vizient Members.” $322,304.

Benjamin Van Tassell, Center for Clinical and Translational Research Endowment Fund, $50,000, “NLRP3 Inflammasome Inhibition to Improve the Heart Graft Function in Donation After Circulatory Death.”

© 2017 American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy
1727 King Street | Alexandria, VA  22314 | (703) 739-2330 | Fax: (703) 836-8982 |