2017 Chemistry

AACP Article






John K. Buolamwini

College of Pharmacy 
Rosalind Franklin University of Medicine and Science

John K. Buolamwini, Ph.D., is professor at Rosalind Franklin University of Medicine and Science College of Pharmacy. Dr. Buolamwini earned a Ph.D. degree in medicinal chemistry, University of Alberta in 1990. Following postdoctoral studies as NIH Fogarty Fellow, he joined The University of Mississippi School of Pharmacy faculty in 1994. He moved to The University of Tennessee College of Pharmacy in 2000, and was promoted to professor in 2005. He became vice chair of the pharmaceutical sciences department and director of graduate programs in the College of Pharmacy. In 2014, he became the chair of the pharmaceutical sciences department at the Rosalind Franklin University of Medicine and Science College of Pharmacy.

Dr. Buolamwini joined the AACP in 1995, was the recipient of an AACP New Investigator Award, and mentored an ACPE Gateway Scholar. He serves on the AACP 2016-2017 Chemistry Section Ad Hoc Task Force. He is a member of the AACP Leadership Development SIG. He was awarded outstanding reviewer for the Journal of Medicinal Chemistry, and was nominated for College Teaching Excellence, and the AACP Volwiler awards.

Dr. Buolamwini has taught medicinal chemistry for over 20 years, and mentored many graduate and postdoctoral students, some being faculty at AACP Colleges (Drs. Assefa, Patil and Sharma). He over 70 publications, and co-edited two books in anticancer drug discovery research.

He has reviewed AACP NIA applications for both the Chemistry and Biological Sciences Sections; and reviewed extensively for National Institutes of Health and the Department of Defense programs, serving as chairperson for some.





M. Omar F. Khan

School of Pharmacy 
Marshall University

M. Omar F. Khan, Ph.D., is professor and chair of Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences and Research at Marshall University School of Pharmacy. He received his B.S. and M.S. in pharmacy from Dhaka University (Bangladesh) and his Ph.D. in medicinal chemistry from The University of Manchester (UK). He served as a postdoctoral researcher and a faculty member for over 18 years in several universities around the globe, over four years are as a department chair.

Dr. Khan has published article on relevance of medicinal chemistry in pharmacy curriculum in AJPE, presented at ACS, AAPS and AACP annual meetings, and is currently co-editing with Dr. Ashok Philip a four-volume medicinal chemistry eBook Series. He also contributed to 12th Edition of Wilson and Gisvold’s Textbook of Organic Medicinal and Pharmaceutical Chemistry.

Dr. Khan has been active in several AACP sections and SIGs including the chemistry section. He served as mentor for multiple faculty members through AACP mentorship program. He is a consultant of AACP’s Council of Faculties’ Community of New and Junior Faculty Task force and AACP Catalyst. He serves in the Graduate Education SIG leadership team and an advisor of Pharm Grad.

Dr. Khan received numerous awards, fellowships and research grants over $1M and has published more than 50 research and scholarly articles. He has served as the advisor and mentor for Phi Delta Chi, numerous pharmacy and graduate students, postdoctoral researchers and faculty members. Many of his advisees are now faculty members and/or scientists in many universities, FDA and research centers.


Secretary of Knowledge Management





Paulo Carvalho

Feik School of Pharmacy 
University of the Incarnate Word

Paulo Carvalho, Ph.D., worked for eight years as a compounding pharmacist in Brazil before deciding to go back to school for his M.S. and Ph.D. in medicinal chemistry. Afterwards, he served as a post-doctoral fellow and research scientist at The University of Mississippi before accepting a position teaching medicinal chemistry at Notre Dame of Maryland University for seven years. At NDMU, he taught several courses in pharmacotherapeutics, pharmaceutics, pharmaceutical calculations, organic chemistry and an elective on parasitic tropical diseases which was quite popular among students and was voted “Teacher of the Year” for the school year of 2014/15. He came to Feik School of Pharmacy in July of 2016 to teach pharmaceutical calculations, pharmaceutics and medicinal chemistry and have mentored students in both universities (undergraduates in chemistry and biology and pharmacy students) in medicinal/organic chemistry research.

In serving AACP, he reviewed abstracts for poster presentations at annual meetings, manuscripts for the American Journal of Pharmaceutical Education (AJPE) and submissions for the New Investigator Award. He also represented AACP for two years at the USA Science and Engineering Festival, held at the Walter E. Washington Convention Center in Washington, D.C., at the scheduled “Meet the Scientists” time and participated of the task force charged with drafting the strategic plan for the Chemistry Section in 2012.





Denise Simpson

School of Pharmacy 
Cedarville University

Denise Simpson, Ph.D., is an assistant professor of pharmaceutical sciences in the School of Pharmacy at Cedarville University where she teaches medicinal chemistry and herbal medicines. She also conducts research with student pharmacists at Cedarville University. Dr. Simpson received her B.S. and Ph.D. degrees in chemistry from the University of the West Indies in Jamaica and completed postdoctoral studies in medicinal chemistry at The University of Iowa and the University of Kansas. She was a research scientist with Tanaud International B.V. (a subsidiary of Shire plc), where she focused on small molecule drug discovery. Her research interests span natural products isolation, semi-synthesis, the optimization of organic molecules possessing varied biological activities, and drug stability studies. She is also interested in scholarly research on team-based learning (TBL) as a pedagogical tool to improve learning in the basic sciences and incorporates TBL in her courses. She was a recipient of the 2015 AACP New Investigator Award to explore the biological activity of pigeon pea flavonoids. She has served on the AACP Chemistry Section Nominations Committee (2016–2017), Abstract Review Committee (2015), and as an AACP Annual Meeting Volunteer (2014). She serves as co-advisor of the Cedarville Chapter of the Student National Pharmaceutical Association (SNPhA) and is a member of several professional organizations including the American Society of Pharmacognosy, American Chemical Society, and Sigma Xi.