2017 Council of Sections

AACP Article






Sherrill J. Brown

Skaggs School of Pharmacy 
University of Montana

Sherrill J. Brown, Pharm.D., is an associate professor and the director of the Drug Information Service in the University of Montana Skaggs School of Pharmacy. She received her Pharm.D. from the University of Missouri–Kansas City and completed a drug information residency at The University of Tennessee and Methodist University Hospital. She is board certified in pharmacotherapy and is the co-director of the UM Drug Information/Academia Residency. She teaches the drug literature evaluation course and offers a four-week drug information APPE rotation. Dr. Brown was named UM Pharmacy Preceptor of the Year in 2017 and received the Kappa Epsilon Career Achievement Award in 2015. Dr. Brown has served as Grand Council vice president of communications for the KE National Fraternity and on the KE Foundation Board.

Dr. Brown is a member of the LIS and Pharmacy Practice Sections and has served as chair of LIS Section. She has also chaired the Programming, Nominating, and Resolutions committees and served on the Strategic Plan task force within the LIS Section. She has served as a reviewer for the NIA with the LIS Section and AACP poster abstracts for both LIS and Pharmacy Practice Sections.

Dr. Brown has been active on the UM Writing Committee since 2014 and has assisted with the University-wide Program-level Writing Assessment since 2012. She initiated a program with the UM Writing Center to improve writing skills of pharmacy students and has presented on this topic at AACP and APhA meetings.





David A. Holdford

School of Pharmacy 
Virginia Commonwealth University

David A. Holdford, Ph.D., is professor in the Department of Pharmacotherapy and Outcomes Science and director of International Programs at Virginia Commonwealth University in Richmond. At VCU, he conducts research and teaches professional and graduate students in the areas of health outcomes research, entrepreneurship, and practice management. He has been major advisor to over 30 Ph.D., M.S., and MBA students.

Dr. Holdford received his B.S. in pharmacy from University of Illinois, M.S. from The Ohio State University, and Ph.D. from University of South Carolina. Prior to entering academia, he practiced as a hospital pharmacist in Chicago and South Carolina.

Dr. Holdford is an APhA fellow and the founding faculty advisor for the school’s Phi Lambda Sigma Chapter. He has received awards from the Academy for Healthcare Improvement, National Community Pharmacists Association, American Pharmacists Association, and FDA for his contributions to scholarship and teaching. Dr. Holdford has authored/edited several books including Introduction to Acute and Ambulatory Care Pharmacy Practice and Marketing for Pharmacists: Providing and Promoting Professional Services.

Dr. Holdford has been an active member of AACP since 1993 as a member and officer of the Social and Administrative Sciences Section. He was the immediate past chair of the section in 2017. He has received AACP’s 2016 Distinguished Teaching Scholar Award and the 2015 AACP Rufus A. Lyman Award. He has authored 13 papers in AJPE, served and chaired multiple committees, reviewed papers and abstracts, mentored Walmart Scholars, completed the 2012-2013 Academic Leadership Fellows Program, and presented at AACP national meetings.