2017 Social and Administrative Sciences

AACP Article






Leticia R. Moczygemba

College of Pharmacy 
The University of Texas at Austin

Leticia R. Moczygemba, Ph.D., is an associate professor in the Health Outcomes and Pharmacy Practice Division and an associate director of the Texas Center for Health Outcomes Research and Education at The University of Texas at Austin College of Pharmacy. Her research program focuses on working with communities and health-systems to develop patient-centered interventions to optimize medication-related health outcomes. She teaches in the Pharm.D. and graduate programs and has recently been involved in the design of interprofessional courses. She has a strong passion for mentoring Pharm.D. students who are interested in exploring research and academic careers. In 2008, Dr. Moczygemba received The University of Texas at Austin College of Pharmacy Distinguished Young Alumnus Award. She received her Pharm.D. and Ph.D. from The University of Texas and was a faculty member at the Virginia Commonwealth University School of Pharmacy from 2008–2016.

Dr. Moczygemba became engaged in AACP Social and Administrative Sciences (SAdS) as a graduate student in 2006. She served as chair of the SAdS Graduate Student Annual Programming Committee and was a Walmart Scholar. Since then, she has served as chair of the SAdS Contributed Papers Committee and as a member of the SAdS Annual Programming Committee, Graduate Program Committee, and on a Leadership and Advocacy Taskforce. She has mentored two Walmart scholars, presented at annual meetings, served as an abstract and new investigator grant reviewer, and published in AJPE. She enjoys networking with SAdS colleagues to share teaching and mentoring experiences and ideas for advancing SAdS curricula.





Lourdes G. Planas

College of Pharmacy 
The University of Oklahoma

Lourdes G. Planas, Ph.D., is associate professor of clinical and administrative sciences at The University of Oklahoma College of Pharmacy. After receiving her B.S. in pharmacy from Xavier University of Louisiana, she practiced in community pharmacies in Louisiana and Florida. She subsequently received a Ph.D. in pharmacy health care administration from the University of Florida.

In the pharmacy curriculum, Dr. Planas teaches elements of health outcomes evaluation, quality improvement, biostatistics, and drug literature evaluation. At the graduate level, she teaches socio-behavioral aspects of the medication use process. Dr. Planas’ research interests include development of problem-solving skills among student pharmacists and evaluation of pharmacist-provided patient care services in community settings. Dr. Planas is a 2010 and 2015 recipient of the American Pharmacists Association Clinical Research Paper Award. She is a fellow of the American Foundation for Pharmaceutical Education.

Dr. Planas’ AACP involvement includes serving as a Walmart Scholars Program mentor, Teachers Seminar speaker, and New Investigator Awards Program reviewer. She has enjoyed working with colleagues on various SAS Section committees, including the Curriculum Committee, Graduate Programs Committee, Nominating Committee, Program Committee, and Resolutions Committee. Dr. Planas is currently serving in her final year as secretary of the SAS Section.


Secretary of Knowledge Management





Sally A. Huston

School of Pharmacy 
Keck Graduate Institute

Sally Huston, Ph.D., earned her B.S. in pharmacy from The University of Toledo School of Pharmacy. She served as treasurer, secretary and second vice-president of the Mecklenburg (Georgia) Pharmaceutical Society. Aware of the challenges facing the profession after 19 years working in community pharmacy, she decided to help meet these challenges through academia. She earned Master of Science (University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill) and Doctor of Philosophy (University of Michigan) degrees, took her first academic position at South University, and joined AACP in 2004.

Dr. Huston is an associate professor in the Department of Clinical and Administrative Pharmacy at Keck Graduate Institute School of Pharmacy. Besides coordinating and teaching three courses, she is APhA-ASP chapter advisor. Research interests include enhancing community pharmacy immunizations, Pharm.D. student entrepreneurship, and resilience in patients with diabetes. She serves on JAPhA’s editorial board and as an RSAP reviewer.

Dr. Huston received a New Investigator Award (NIA) in 2006. Her service to AACP includes: AACP meeting room monitor, multiple SAS committees (nominating 2007, programming 2008, planning 2009, round table organizing 2009, curriculum 2009, college of faculties nominations committee 2010, new pharmacy faculty research awards program 2011 & 2012, awards 2014, strategic planning 2014, Rufus A. Lyman award for 2016), reviewer (poster research abstracts 2017, NIA reviewer for multiple years), and round-table presenter (2015). She has served as chair of the SAS research mentoring exchange committee from 2014 through the present. Dr. Huston is strongly committed to AACP and hopes to continue her service as Secretary of the SAS section.