Professional Affairs Committee

AACP Article

According to the Bylaws of AACP, the Professional Affairs Committee is to study issues associated with the professional practice as they relate to pharmaceutical education, and to establish and improve working relationships with all other organizations in the field of health affairs. The Committee is also encouraged to address related agenda items relevant to its Bylaws charge and to identify issues for consideration by subsequent committees, task forces, commissions, or other groups.

The 2019–2020 Professional Affairs Committee will be focused on the following charges:

  • Describe the leadership role of schools of pharmacy in advancing interprofessional practice, with an emphasis on physician-pharmacist collaborative relationships.
  • Establish an inventory of resources that can support school efforts to grow collaborative partnerships between pharmacists and physicians.
  • Determine gaps in the resources required to support schools in efforts to facilitate expansion of interprofessional partnerships. Specifically, evaluate the presence of resources that assist with articulating the value proposition for physician-pharmacist collaborations across the dimensions of quality, cost, patient experience and health care provider wellbeing (the Quadruple Aim).
  • Define strategies and draft an action plan for AACP's role in facilitating member schools' efforts to accelerate the development of interprofessional practices within their geography of influence.
Gina D. Moore (University of Colorado) Chair
Lynette R. Bradley-Baker (American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy) Staff Liaison
Anne L. Burns (American Pharmacists Association) Liaison Member
Hannah Fish (National Community Pharmacists Association) Liaison Member
Clark Kebodeaux (University of Kentucky) Member
Lisa M. Meny (Ferris State University) Member
Anne Policastri (American Society of Health-System Pharmacists) Liaison Member
Kevin B. Sneed (University of South Florida) Member
Andy Traynor (Concordia University of Wisconsin) Member

All standing committee reports are published in the American Journal of Pharmaceutical Education and the most recent Professional Affairs Committee report can be accessed on the AJPE website.