AACP Announces 2024 Recipients of Top Awards in Research, Teaching, Service and More

AACP Article

For Immediate Release

Contact: Maureen Thielemans, 703-739-2330, ext. 1022
or: Kyle Bagin, 703-739-2330, ext. 1036


Arlington, Va. — The American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy today announced the recipients of its top awards for 2024, which recognize six individuals, one institution, one organization and one scholarly paper, for their outstanding contributions made to pharmacy education, research, patient outcomes, community service and academic publishing.

The 2024 Recipients:
  • Frank Romanelli, Pharm.D., M.P.H., FAPHA, BCPS, AAHIVP, of the University of Kentucky, will receive the Robert K. Chalmers Distinguished Pharmacy Educator Award recognizing his outstanding achievements as an educator and mentor, his innovations in the classroom, and his overall impact on pharmacy education and the profession.
  • M. Lynn Crismon, Pharm.D., FCCP, DABCP, BCPP, of The University of Texas at Austin, will receive the Paul R. Dawson Award for Excellence in Patient Care Research for his internationally-renowned work in psychopharmacology and the development of evidence-based guidelines for treating patients with mental health disorders.
  • James E. Polli, Ph.D., of the University of Maryland, will receive the Volwiler Research Achievement Award for his pioneering research in pharmaceutics, dedication to education and development of new programs, including the university’s master’s in regulatory science.
  • The Grace and Harold Sewell Memorial Fund will receive the Distinguished Service Award for its impact on librarians’ active engagement in AACP, within their schools’ pharmacy education curriculum and across the academy for over two decades.
  • Barbara Wells, Pharm.D., of The University of Mississippi School of Pharmacy, will receive the Lifetime Achievement Award for her rich portfolio of accomplishments related to instruction, leadership, service and scholarship for more than two decades.
  • Authors of "NAPLEX Preparation Program Characteristics and Resources Associated With First-Time Exam Pass Rates" will receive the Rufus A. Lyman Award, which recognizes the best paper published in the American Journal of Pharmaceutical Education during the previous year. The authors are:
    • Diana M. Sobieraj, Pharm.D., FCCP, BCPS, of the University of Connecticut
    • Aleda M.H. Chen, Pharm.D., Ph.D., FAPhA, of Cedarville University
    • Michael P. Kelsch, Pharm.D., BCPS, of North Dakota State University
    • Lisa Lebovitz, J.D., M.S., of the University of Maryland
    • Sarah A. Spinler, Pharm.D., FAHA, FCCP, FSHP, AACC, of Binghamton University, The State University of New York
    • Mary E. Ray, Pharm.D. of the University of Iowa
  • Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center Jerry H. Hodge School of Pharmacy will receive the Lawrence C. Weaver Transformative Community Service Award for its commitment to addressing unmet community needs through education, practice and research.
  • Jeanne Frenzel, Pharm.D., Ph.D., BCSCP, of North Dakota State University; and Jacqueline McLaughlin, Ph.D., of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, have been named the 2024 Distinguished Teaching Scholars, recognizing their excellence in scholarly teaching and the scholarship of teaching and learning.

"AACP’s award recipients exemplify excellence in teaching, research, service and publishing with far reaching impact here and around the world," said AACP CEO and Executive Vice President Lee Vermeulen, B.S.Pharm., M.S., FCCP, FFIP. "Celebrating the extraordinary contributions of our recipients is the highlight of our Annual Meeting."

The recipients of AACP’s awards are at the forefront of healthcare professions education and through their work are advancing pharmacy innovation, enhancing patient care and adding value to the healthcare system. 

Each will be honored at AACP’s Annual Meeting, Pharmacy Education 2024, July 20-23, in Boston, Massachusetts.