Council of Deans


The Council of Deans is comprised of individual active, affiliate, and emeritus members who are deans, or administrative heads of regular institutional members, who are administrative heads (or their designee) of affiliate institutional members, associate or assistant deans of regular or affiliate institutional members who select membership in the Council of Deans, or who are professional staff members of the Association or the ACPE, or who have achieved emeritus status in such positions. Among the interests of this Council are the educational policies, the internal administration of schools, and relationships to other elements of the community of higher education and to society at large.

W. Tommy Smith (Manchester University) Chair

George E. MacKinnon, III (Medical College of Wisconsin) Chair-elect

Toyin Tofade (Albany College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences) Immediate Past Chair

Julie M. Sease (University of South Carolina) Secretary of Knowledge Management

Melissa S. Medina (The University of Oklahoma) Representative to the Council of Deans Administrative Board

Lynette R. Bradley-Baker (American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy) Staff Liaison

Mission Statement

The mission of the Council of Deans is to identify and address major issues related to the conduct of professional, post-professional and graduate education, research and service in pharmacy and the pharmaceutical sciences.

The Council addresses this mission through 1) appropriate committees responsible for the development of various reports and/or recommendations published or disseminated in various formats for use by the collective college and school constituencies; 2) its representatives on the Associations' Board of Directors; 3) programming at regional and national meetings; and 4) other strategies for connecting its members as appropriate.  An overriding theme for the Council is to address policy-relevant issues, which can ultimately be helpful to AACP, as well as locally, regionally and nationally to individual colleges and schools of pharmacy.