Who We Are


AACP recognizes a special responsibility to provide leadership in advancing and enhancing the quality of education and training in its member institutions while respecting the diversity inherent among them.   

The association includes institutional members - the 142 schools of pharmacy accredited by the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education - and individual members, including administrators, faculty and staff.  We represent more than 6,400 faculty, 62,500 students enrolled in professional programs and 5,100 individuals pursuing graduate study.

The Doctor of Pharmacy (Pharm.D.) degree is awarded after completion of what is equivalent to a four-year professional degree program, following a minimum of two years of collegiate undergraduate study.  Students who achieve the Pharm.D. degree must also pass the North American Pharmacist Licensure Examination (NAPLEX) and state law examination in order to engage in professional practice.