Council of Sections


The Council of Sections (COS) is composed of the administrative officers (chair-elect, chair, immediate past chair) of all Sections. The primary focus of the Council is to represent the collective interests of the academic disciplines within pharmacy education to the Association and its Board of Directors (BOD).

Jennifer Danielson (University of Washington) Chair
David Holdford (Virginia Commonwealth University) Chair-elect
Steven C. Stoner (University of Missouri-Kansas City)  Immediate Past Chair
Karen M. Nagel-Edwards (Midwestern University - Downers Grove) Secretary of Knowledge Management
Kirsten F. Block (American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy) Staff Liaison

Mission Statement

The mission of the Council of Sections is to represent and advocate for the collective interests of the Sections of the Association. The Council provides leadership to the Sections through policy development and programming. The COS acts through its representatives on the Association's BOD and through efforts to facilitate Section activities that align with the mission and the strategic plan of AACP.

Specific objectives of the Council include:

  • Represent the collective interests of the Sections of the Association;
  • Advocate for the resolutions and policy proposals brought forward by the individual Sections to the BOD;
  • Coordinate programming for the individual Sections as well as collaborate with the Council of Faculties (COF) and Council of Deans (COD);
  • Coordinate task forces pertaining to the interests of multiple Sections; and
  • Coordinate, communicate and partner with the COF and the COD on selected projects or programs.

If you would like to join a Section, please go to your AACP member profile page. Members may join only up to two Sections.

List of Sections

Administrative Services

This Section cultivates a professional environment among its members to foster the development of excellence, innovation and leadership in all professional endeavors including administration, practice, scholarship and service within the organization, the larger academic community, and the healthcare professions.


Heather MW Petrelli (University of South Florida) Chair
Rebecca H. Brierley (University at Buffalo, The State University of New York) Chair-elect
Bernadette K. Brown (Butler University) Immediate Past Chair
Rebecca J. Ceraul (University of Maryland) Secretary of Knowledge Management
Biological Sciences

This Section provides a forum for the exchange of ideas pertinent to the effective teaching of biological science-based material in the professional curriculum of colleges of pharmacy and the promotion of effective biological sciences whose content is based primarily on biological facts and principles.


Lauren A. O 'Donnell (Duquesne University) Chair
Daniel Berlau (Regis University) Chair-elect
Daniel R. Kennedy (Western New England University) Immediate Past Chair
Marilyn E. Thompson Odom (Bellmont University) Secretary of Knowledge Management

This Section exists to represent pharmacy educators in the development and implementation of programs and policies which facilitate the provision of a sound chemical foundation in professional and graduate curricula.


Susan L. Mercer (Lipscomb University) Chair
John K. Buolamwini (Rosalind Franklin University of Medicine and Science) Chair-elect
Andrew Coop (University of Maryland) Immediate Past Chair
Paulo Carvalho (University of the Incarnate Word) Secretary of Knowledge Management
Continuing Professional Development

This Section’s objective is to provide a forum for professional dialogue and cooperative effort among its members and related groups for the exchange of information, ideas, and techniques in the field of Continuing Professional Development.


Peter J. Hughes (Samford University) Chair
James Wheeler (The University of Tennessee) Chair-elect
Glen E. Baumgart (The University of Texas at Austin) Immediate Past Chair
Rebecca Young (Roosevelt University) Secretary of Knowledge Management
Experiential Education

This Section promotes excellence in experiential education, develops, maintains and supports networking, fosters innovation, and disseminates best practices.


Maryann Z. Skrabal (Creighton University) Chair
Trish Devine (Butler University) Chair-elect
Patricia L. Darbishire (Purdue University) Immediate Past Chair
Angela Brownfield (University of Missouri-Kansas City) Secretary of Knowledge Management
Library and Information Science

This Section supports librarians and information professionals who directly serve or are affiliated with colleges or schools of pharmacy. Topics of interest include: drug information, informatics, information literacy, information technology, scholarly communication and publishing, teaching technologies and methods, biomedical literature evaluation and etc.


Vern Duba (The University of Iowa) Chair
Jennifer R. Martin (The University of Arizona) Chair-elect
Robert D. Beckett (Manchester University College of Pharmacy) Immediate Past Chair
Priya Shenoy (Drake University) Secretary of Knowledge Management

This Section enhances the delivery of pharmaceutical care by providing a forum for exchange of information and expertise that supports the discovery and promotes understanding of the unique body of knowledge known as pharmaceutics.


Melgardt M. de Villiers (University of Wisconsin-Madison) Chair
Anita T. Mosley (University of the Incarnate Word) Chair-elect
Charles S. Asbill (Campbell University) Immediate Past Chair
Nicole R. Winston (Medical College of Georgia at Augusta University) Secretary of Knowledge Management
Pharmacy Practice

This Section represents faculty engaged in pharmacy practice and the clinical sciences, works to advance pharmacy practice education through research and dialogue in teaching methods and curriculum design and promotes the acquisition of new knowledge through independent or collaborative research on the pharmacokinetic, pharmacodynamic, sociologic or therapeutic aspects of clinical drug use.


Lakesha M. Butler (Southern Illinois University Edwardsville) Chair
Adam Pate (The University of Mississippi) Chair-elect
Paul Gubbins (University of Missouri-Kansas City) Immediate Past Chair
Leslie A. Hamilton (The University of Tennessee) Secretary of Knowledge Management
Social and Administrative Sciences

This Section encourages, in the broadest and most liberal manner, the advancement of the teaching methods in the social and administrative sciences; the improvement of the qualification and usefulness of teachers of the social and administrative sciences through the development of high standards of professional ethics and education; and by its professional contacts, reports, discussions, papers, meetings and activities to maintain pharmaceutical education at a high level.


Pamela C. Heaton (University of Cincinnati) Chair
Lourdes G. Planas (The University of Oklahoma) Chair-elect
Ana C. Quinones-Boex (Midwestern University - Downers Grove) Immediate Past Chair
Sally A. Huston (Keck Graduate Institute) Secretary of Knowledge Management