Ten Student Pharmacists Awarded Walmart Health Equity Scholarship

AACP Article

Financial support will help students’ educational commitment to serving rural or underserved communities upon graduation.


For Immediate Release

Contact: Maureen Thielemans, 703-408-6140

Arlington, Va.—The American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy has selected 10 individuals as recipients of the Walmart Health Equity Scholarship for Pharmacy Students recognizing their leadership, academic success, and a commitment to serving rural or medically underserved patient populations upon graduation.

The goal of the scholarship program is to promote and support a diverse population of student pharmacists who will advance health equity. Each awardee will receive a single $5,000 scholarship.

The 2022 Walmart Health Equity Scholarship Recipients are:

  • Jacee Billings, Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center
  • Maya Harris, Howard University
  • Nathalie Iribe, University of Southern California
  • Jannell Jeffers, Thomas Jefferson University
  • Karisse Lora, University of Connecticut
  • Elise Moore, University of Minnesota
  • Stanley Otiwu, University of Georgia
  • Vindya Perera, Northeast Ohio Medical University
  • Rena Reid, University of Pittsburgh
  • Kenneth Richardson, University of Pittsburgh

"AACP is extremely proud of its long-standing partnership with Walmart and our mutual commitment to improving access to healthcare," said AACP Executive Vice President and CEO Lee Vermeulen, B.S.Pharm., M.S., FCCP, FFIP.

"We know the true impact of Walmart’s generosity will be realized after these outstanding students graduate and have an opportunity to further support communities in need."

In their application essays, recipients described their personal attributes and life experiences, and how they will contribute to efforts to promote health equity throughout their pharmacy career. AACP received nearly 700 applications from pharmacy students at private and public institutions, a record number for any association scholarship or award.