Twenty-seven Student Pharmacists Selected for Research Exchange Mentorship Program; Three receive AFPE Scholarship

AACP Article

AACP is pleased to announce that the American Foundation for Pharmaceutical Education (AFPE) will once again sponsor three Social and Administrative Sciences (SAS) Section Summer Research Exchange Mentorship Program awards for summer 2022. These awards of $2,500 each will support student pharmacists as they pursue research with host mentors outside of their home institutions. The scholarship recipients for 2022 are:

  • Valerie Wasem, Touro University California College of Pharmacy – host mentor Elizabeth Unni, Touro College of Pharmacy, New York
  • Minh-Hanh Nguyen, University of Charleston School of Pharmacy – host mentor Gladys Ekong, Western New England University
  • Jess Fairbanks, University of Wisconsin-Madison – host mentor Jon Schommer, University of Minnesota

The SAS Research Exchange Mentorship Program is intended to foster interest in research and SAS-related graduate education among student pharmacists. The program is open to P1-P3 students, who complete a research experience with a SAS faculty member outside their home institution, building their professional network and skills for residency, fellowship, and further graduate studies.

The program, now in its sixth year, continues to grow. The 2022 cohort of 27 student pharmacists from 17 pharmacy schools is the largest yet. These students, including the three scholarship winners, will participate in projects with mentors from 13 host schools. AFPE award winners from past years have spoken of the value of the program in building research skills and experience, while providing opportunities to network and contribute to the scientific community.

The SAS Section intends to run the Research Exchange Mentorship Program in summer 2023, with AFPE again offering awards to highly meritorious applicants. Additional information and application instructions will be available in early 2023.