Distinguished Teaching Scholar Award

cap and gown

2020 Award Information


The AACP Distinguished Teaching Scholar Award is designed to recognize excellence of our academic pharmacy faculty engaged in and/or supporting scholarly teaching and the scholarship of teaching and learning. According to Richlin (2001), Scholarly Teaching is a process that involves observing a teaching-learning problem or opportunity, consulting literature, selecting and applying an educational intervention, conducting systematic observation, documenting observations, analyzing results and obtaining peer evaluation.

Any AACP member may submit nominations for this award by completing the online submission form no later than Wednesday, Dec. 11, 2019 at 11:59 p.m. PT, identified with the appropriate award title. Please contact Michelle Assa-Eley, Senior Director of Education, with any questions.

2020 Award Recipient

Katherine Kelley, Ph.D.

Past Award Recipients


Therese Poirier, Pharm.D.


Kristin K. Janke, Ph.D.

Frank Romanelli, Pharm.D.


Jeff J. Cain, Ed.D.

Adam M. Persky, Ph.D.


Naser Z. Alsharif, Pharm.D., Ph.D.

David A. Holdford, Ph.D.

Melissa S. Medina, Ed.D.

Reza Mehvar, Pharm.D., Ph.D.