AACP and the ACT Pharmacy Collaborative Announces Community Pharmacy Practice Transformation Educators’ Badge Participants

AACP Article

A new educators’ badge provides recognized credibility in community-based pharmacy practice.


For Immediate Release

Contact: Maureen Thielemans, 703-408-6140


The Academia-Community Transformation (ACT) Collaborative and the AACP Transformation Center, with support from the Community Pharmacy Foundation, have selected 73 educators to participate in the Community Pharmacy Practice Transformation Educators’ Badge Program. Participants will bolster their knowledge and skills in community-based pharmacy practice transformation and gain credibility amongst other educators and practitioners. 

In its inaugural year, the aim is to provide a fun, contemporary way to connect community-based pharmacy practice leaders and educators. Throughout the program, participants will have networking opportunities across the academy, and complete assignments across three key component areas: knowledge/training, engagement/implementation, and dissemination. Those who complete all the requirements will be recognized as experts in community-based pharmacy practice advancement and will be named on the ACT Pharmacy Collaborative and AACP websites.

“I’m excited that through this program and badge, we are recognizing a community of educators who are not only well-versed in the latest advancements but are also actively contributing to the evolution of community pharmacy,” said Megan Smith, Pharm.D., BCACP, program co-lead, associate professor, and UAMS Community-Based Residency Program director. “I believe that by investing in these educators, we are shaping the future of pharmacy education and the future of community pharmacy.”

The 2023-2024 Community Pharmacy Practice Transformation Educators Badge participants are:


  • Carmela Avena-Woods, St. John’s University
  • Amy Bachyrycz, The University of New Mexico
  • Jordan Ballou, University of South Carolina
  • Meghan Breckling, University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences
  • Samantha Champion, Manchester University
  • Maria Charbonneau, Western New England University
  • Radhika Devraj, Southern Illinois University Edwardsville
  • Joseph Dikun, The University of Mississippi
  • Marlowe Djuric Kachlic, University of Illinois Chicago
  • Erin Dorval, Palm Beach Atlantic University
  • Julie Emelander, Ferris State University
  • Clayton English, University of Washington
  • Heidi Eukel, North Dakota State University
  • Shawn Fellows, St. John Fisher College
  • Stefanie Ferreri, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
  • Jessica Finke, Palm Beach Atlantic University
  • Gale Garmong, Duquesne University
  • Gretchen Garofoli, West Virginia University
  • Catherine Gilmore, University of Health Sciences and Pharmacy in St. Louis
  • Jeff Gray, East Tennessee State University
  • Kendall Guthrie, University of Missouri-Kansas City
  • Kelsey Hake, University of Pittsburgh
  • Jeffrey Hamper, Idaho State University
  • Micah Hata, Western University of Health Sciences
  • Michael Hegener, University of Cincinnati
  • Sophia Herbert, University of Pittsburgh
  • Faith Hicks, University of Hawaii at Hilo
  • Brooke Hudspeth, University of Kentucky
  • Stephanie Hunziker, Southern Illinois University Edwardsville
  • Derek Huynh, West Coast University
  • Raven Jackson, Xavier University of Louisiana
  • Shelby Jensen, University of Nebraska Medical Center
  • Katelyn Johnson, University of Cincinnati
  • Ellen Jones, Harding University
  • Thomas Kalista, The University of Rhode Island
  • Danielle Kieck, Wilkes University
  • Rebecca Lahrman, The Ohio State University
  • Cherokee Layson-Wolf, University of Maryland
  • Heather Lyons-Burney, University of Missouri-Kansas City
  • Alyssa Mack, Lipscomb University
  • Macary Marciniak, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
  • Kerry Martin, University of New England
  • Hillary Matson, Albany College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences
  • Lena McDowell, Auburn University
  • Alex Middendorf, South Dakota State University
  • Lindsey Miller, The University of Mississippi
  • Elaine Nguyen, Idaho State University
  • Nicole Olenik, Purdue University
  • Sarah Oprinovich, University of Missouri-Kansas City
  • Anthony Pattin, University at Buffalo, The State University of New York
  • Nicole Pezzino, Wilkes University
  • Thomas Pile, Marshall University
  • Laura Rhodes, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
  • Nathaniel Rickles, University of Connecticut
  • Brittany Riley, Marshall University
  • Jessica Robinson, East Tennessee State University
  • Rafael Sanchez, The University of Texas at El Paso
  • Jennifer Seifert, The Ohio State University
  • Elizabeth Skoy, North Dakota State University
  • Megan Smith, University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences
  • Jeffrey Reagan Snow, Union University
  • Rachel Stafford, University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences
  • Jayme Steig, North Dakota State University
  • Brandon Sucher, Regis University
  • Benjamin Teeter, University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences
  • Beth Todd, University of Charleston
  • Deanna Tran, University of Maryland
  • Megan Undeberg, Washington State University
  • Jacqueise Unonu, Howard University
  • Jason Varin, University of Minnesota
  • Stevie Veach, The University of Iowa
  • Miranda Wilhelm, Southern Illinois University Edwardsville
  • Alina Yanovich, Pacific University Oregon

"This program affords the opportunity to bring together 73 passionate educators nationwide to network and engage with community pharmacy leaders, while empowering them to work locally to advance community practice in their classrooms and communities," said Melissa McGivney, Pharm.D., FCCP, FAPhA, ACT Pharmacy Collaborative director, associate dean for student success and professional initiatives, and professor of pharmacy & therapeutics.

The ACT Pharmacy Collaborative is focused on uniting colleges and schools of pharmacy and pharmacist leaders nationwide with a common focus to transform community-based pharmacy. This year’s participants represent 52 colleges and schools of pharmacy and share a passion for advancing community pharmacy practice and education.