AACP Announces 2021 Recipients of Top Awards in Research, Teaching, Service and Publishing

Weaver Award trophy

For Immediate Release

Contact: Maureen Thielemans, 703-739-2330 ext. 1022

Arlington, Va. — The American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy today announced the recipients of its top awards, which recognize five individuals, one institution and one scholarly paper, for their outstanding contributions made to pharmacy education, research, patient outcomes, community service and publication. Recipients will be honored at AACP’s annual meeting, Pharmacy Education 2021, July 19-22.

Recipients are:

  • Brian Erstad, Pharm.D., of the University of Arizona, will receive the Robert K. Chalmers Distinguished Pharmacy Educator Award recognizing his outstanding achievements as an educator and mentor, his innovations in the classroom, and his overall impact on pharmacy education and the profession.
  • William R. Doucette, Ph.D., of the University of Iowa, will receive the Paul R. Dawson Award for Excellence in Patient Care Research, recognizing his innovative and impactful research in the areas of patient care and the collaboration between pharmacists and other healthcare providers.
  • Carston "Rick" Wagner, Ph.D., of the University of Minnesota, will receive the Volwiler Research Achievement Award recognizing his record of sustained excellence in research and entrepreneurial work in chemical biology.
  • Victoria F. Roche, Ph.D., of Creighton University, will receive the Lifetime Achievement Award for her rich portfolio of accomplishments related to instruction, leadership, service and scholarship over 25 years.
  • Laura Cranston, R.Ph., Co-founder and former Chief Executive Officer of the Pharmacy Quality Alliance, will receive the Distinguished Service Award for her work to advance the recognition of pharmacists’ contributions to safe, effective and high-quality patient care through quality measurement and improvement.
  • "A Historical Discourse Analysis of Pharmacist Identity in Pharmacy Education," by Jamie Kellar, Pharm.D., University of Toronto, Canada; Elis Paradis, Ph.D., University of Toronto, Canada; Cees P.M. van der Vleuten, Ph.D., Maastricht University, Netherlands; Mirjam G.A. oude Egbrink, Ph.D., Maastricht University, Netherlands; and Zubin Austin, Ph.D., MISc, University of Toronto, Canada, will receive the Rufus A. Lyman Award, which recognizes the best paper published in the American Journal of Pharmaceutical Education during the previous year.
  • The University of Connecticut will receive the Lawrence C. Weaver Transformative Community Service Award for its commitment to addressing unmet community needs through education, practice and research.

"In times such as the current pandemic, the impact of excellence in all dimensions becomes even more obvious and needed. AACP’s award recipients exemplify excellence in teaching, research and service with far reaching impact here and around the world," said AACP CEO and Executive Vice President Lucinda L. Maine, Ph.D., R.Ph.

The recipients of AACP’s awards are at the forefront of healthcare professions education and through their work are advancing pharmacy innovation, enhancing patient care and adding value to the healthcare system.

About AACP

Founded in 1900, AACP is the national organization representing the interests of pharmacy education. AACP is comprised of 142 accredited schools with pharmacy degree programs, including more than 6,700 faculty, 61,000 students enrolled in professional programs and 6,000 individuals pursuing graduate study. To learn more about AACP, visit www.aacp.org.