AACP Announces 2022 Recipients of Top Awards in Research, Teaching, Service and Publishing

Weaver Award trophy

For Immediate Release

Contact: Maureen Thielemans, 703-739-2330, ext. 1022

Arlington, Va. — The American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy today announced the recipients of its top awards, which recognize four individuals, one institution and one scholarly paper, for their outstanding contributions made to pharmacy education, research, patient outcomes, community service and publication. Recipients will be honored at AACP’s annual meeting, Pharmacy Education 2022, July 23-27, in Grapevine, Texas.

  • Cynthia J. Boyle, Pharm.D., of the University of Maryland, will receive the Robert K. Chalmers Distinguished Pharmacy Educator Award recognizing her outstanding achievements as an educator and mentor, her innovations in the classroom, and her overall impact on pharmacy education and the profession.
  • Rajender R. Aparasu, Ph.D., of the University of Houston, will receive the Paul R. Dawson Award for Excellence in Patient Care Research, recognizing his 25 years of sustained achievement and impact in education and in research related to patient care.
  • Marilyn E. Morris, Ph.D., of the University at Buffalo, The State University of New York, will receive the Volwiler Research Achievement Award for her internationally recognized work in the area of drug transporters and their role in the pharmacokinetics/pharmacodynamics (PK/PD) of drugs.
  • Marilyn K. Speedie, Ph.D., of the University of Minnesota, will receive the Lifetime Achievement Award for her rich portfolio of accomplishments related to instruction, leadership, service and scholarship for more than two decades.
  • “Addressing the Need for Ethnic and Racial Diversity in the Pipeline for Pharmacy Faculty” by Hope E. Campbell, Pharm.D., of Belmont University, Angela M. Hagan, Ph.D., of Belmont University, and Caroline A. Gaither, Ph.D., of the University of Minnesota will receive the Rufus A. Lyman Award, which recognizes the best paper published in the American Journal of Pharmaceutical Education during the previous year.
  • East Tennessee State University Bill Gatton College of Pharmacy will receive the Lawrence C. Weaver Transformative Community Service Award for its commitment to addressing unmet community needs through education, practice and research.

“It is very exciting to be returning to the opportunity to recognize our top award recipients in person at this year’s annual meeting,” said AACP CEO and Executive Vice President Lucinda L. Maine, Ph.D., R.Ph. “Acknowledging the contributions in teaching, research and service of the 2022 recipients is a highlight of our meeting.”

The recipients of AACP’s awards are at the forefront of healthcare professions education and through their work are advancing pharmacy innovation, enhancing patient care and adding value to the healthcare system.

AACP will present the Chalmers and Weaver Awards during the Opening General Session on Sunday, July 24. The Dawson and Volwiler Awards will be presented during the plenary session on Monday, July 25, and the Lifetime Achievement Award and the Rufus A. Lyman Award will be presented during the Tuesday General Session on July 26.

About AACP

AACP is comprised of 142 accredited colleges and schools with pharmacy degree programs, including more than 6,800 faculty, 61,000 students enrolled in professional programs and 6,000 individuals pursuing graduate study.