AACP Selects 30 Rising Leaders for Fellowship Program

AACP Article

Fellows will convene in-person for year-long Academic Leadership Fellows Program 

Contact: Maureen Thielemans, 703-739-2330 ext. 1022

Arlington, Va. — The American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy is proud to announce it has selected 30 individuals to join its prestigious Academic Leadership Fellows Program, which aims to support and contribute to the development of leaders in academic pharmacy and higher education.

Now in its 18th year, the program utilizes an in-depth curriculum aimed at the development of self through the study of leadership theory, personal skills enhancement and guidance from demonstrated leaders. Upon completion of the program in 2022, these Fellows will join more than 400 program alumni, many of whom have assumed leadership positions in academic pharmacy, higher education, and other healthcare fields.

"It is so exciting to know that this ALFP cohort will enjoy the full, in-person experience of this outstanding leadership program," said Lucinda L. Maine, R.Ph., Ph.D., AACP executive vice president and CEO. "As they complete their experience in July 2022, we will have topped 500 fellows in a program that has transformed lives, careers and pharmacy education."

The 2021-2022 Academic Leadership Fellows are:

  • Edna N. Almodóvar, B.S.Pharm., Pharm.D.
    University of Puerto Rico School of Pharmacy, Medical Sciences Campus 
  • Carl A. Anderson, Ph.D.
    Duquesne University School of Pharmacy
  • Jennifer Beall, Pharm.D., BCPS, CHSE
    Samford University McWhorter School of Pharmacy
  • Jolene R. Bostwick, Pharm.D., BCPS, BCPP
    University of Michigan College of Pharmacy
  • Adeola O. Coker, Ph.D.
    University of the Incarnate Word Feik School of Pharmacy
  • Fred Doloresco, Pharm.D., M.S.
    University at Buffalo School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences
  • Rebecca Dunn, Pharm.D., BCPS
    The University of Texas at Tyler Ben and Maytee Fisch College of Pharmacy
  • Thomas M. Ellington, Pharm.D., MA Min.
    Shenandoah University Bernard J. Dunn School of Pharmacy
  • Changjian “Jim” Feng, Ph.D.
    University of New Mexico College of Pharmacy
  • Brent I. Fox, Pharm.D., Ph.D., FASHP
    Auburn University Harrison School of Pharmacy
  • Paul Gavaza, Ph.D.
    Loma Linda University School of Pharmacy
  • Suzanna Gim, Pharm.D., MPH
    Long Island University Arnold & Marie Schwartz College of Pharmacy
  • Karl Hess, Pharm.D., APh, CTH, FCPhA, FAPhA, AFTM RCPS (Glasg)
    Chapman University School of Pharmacy
  • Charisse Johnson, M.S., Pharm.D.
    Chicago State University College of Pharmacy
  • LaToya Jones Braun, Ph.D.
    Regis University School of Pharmacy
  • Clark Kebodeaux, Pharm.D., BCACP
    University of Kentucky College of Pharmacy
  • Kalen B. Manasco, Pharm.D., BCPS, BCPPS, FCCP, FPPA
    University of Florida College of Pharmacy
  • Gail Orum-Alexander, Pharm.D., BCGP
    Keck Graduate Institute School of Pharmacy and Health Sciences
  • Dennis Parker, Pharm.D., FCCM
    Wayne State University Eugene Applebaum College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences
  • Emmanuelle Schwartzman, Pharm.D., CDE®, BCACP, APh
    Western University of Health Sciences College of Pharmacy
  • Emily M. Scopelliti, Pharm.D., BCPS
    Thomas Jefferson University Jefferson College of Pharmacy
  • Sarah Shrader, Pharm.D., FCCP
    University of Kansas School of Pharmacy
  • Aleksandra E. Sikora, Ph.D.
    Oregon State University College of Pharmacy
  • Ajay N. Singh, Ph.D.
    South University School of Pharmacy
  • Erika E. Tillery, Pharm.D., BCPP, BCGP, FASCP
    Presbyterian College School of Pharmacy
  • Hoai-An Truong, Pharm.D., MPH, FAPhA, FNAP
    University of Maryland Eastern Shore School of Pharmacy and Health Professions
  • Rajesh Vadlapatla, Ph.D.
    Marshall B. Ketchum University College of Pharmacy
  • Kathryn Wheeler, Pharm.D., BCPS
    University of Connecticut School of Pharmacy
  • Lanita S. White, Pharm.D.
    University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences College of Pharmacy
  • J. Andrew Woods, Pharm.D., BCPS
    Wingate University School of Pharmacy

Leadership Facilitators

Fellows are grouped into five teams with a Leadership Facilitator, who is a senior leader in health professions education and provides support and encouragement to group members. They provide feedback on the Fellows' individual professional, project and personal goals. The 2021-2022 Leadership Facilitators are:

  • Arjun Dutta, Ph.D., B.Pharm., Dean, American University of Health Sciences School of Pharmacy
  • Johnnie L. Early, II, Ph.D., R.Ph., FNPhA, Dean, Florida A&M University College of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences
  • Diane B. Ginsburg, Ph.D., M.S., R.Ph., FASHP, Associate Dean for Healthcare Partnerships, The University of Texas at Austin College of Pharmacy
  • Wanda T. Maldonado-Dávila, B.S.Pharm., Pharm.D., University of Puerto Rico School of Pharmacy
  • Evan Robinson, R.Ph., Ph.D., FNAP, Dean, Creighton University School of Pharmacy and Health Professions

This year’s cohort is diverse in its professional, geographical and institutional composition. Public and private institutions are represented equally amongst the group, with five Fellows representing minority serving institutions. Nearly 67 percent of Fellows represent a pharmacy practice discipline, while 23 percent and 10 percent of Fellows categorize their disciplines as pharmaceutical sciences and pharmacy administration/social and administrative sciences, respectively. Fellows who hold the position of associate professor make up 70 percent of the cohort while those holding the position of professor represent 30 percent. 

Fellows from institutions across the country will begin the year-long program in September. Consisting of four in-person meetings, the program provides resources in conjunction with the experiential activities designed by the dean mentor at the home school or college. Critical topics addressing how to lead change, relationship management, diversity, equity and inclusion in higher education, and well-being will be covered during the four sessions.