AACP Selects 35 Rising Leaders for Fellowship Program

AACP Article

ALFP aims to support and contribute to the development of leaders in academic pharmacy and higher education. It utilizes an in-depth curriculum aimed at the development of self through the study of leadership theory, personal skills enhancement and guidance from demonstrated leaders. Critical topics addressing how to lead change, conflict management, diversity, equity and inclusion in leadership development, and advocacy will be covered during the four sessions.

New this year are virtual book and journal club discussions on a variety of leadership topics, enhanced discussion on inclusive leadership, as well as opportunities for enhanced ALFP alumni engagement later this year.

Upon completion of the program in 2023, these Fellows will join more than 500 program alumni, many of whom have assumed leadership positions in academic pharmacy, higher education, and other healthcare fields.

“Since it was initially designed and delivered, ALFP has had a transformational impact on our fellows, their institutions, and AACP,” said Lucinda L. Maine, Ph.D., R.Ph., AACP Executive Vice President and CEO. “With the many significant changes in leadership at AACP member institutions, ensuring there is a rich pipeline of capable leaders is critical.”

Fellows were selected on their qualifications with an intentional eye on diversity aspects, including gender, race/ethnicity, type of academic institution, geography, and discipline.

The 2022-2023 Academic Leadership Fellows are:

  1. Swati Betharia, Ph.D., MCPHS University–Boston School of Pharmacy
  2. Riley Bowers, Pharm.D., BCCP, BCPS, Campbell University College of Pharmacy & Health Sciences
  3. Jessica H. Brady, Pharm.D., BCPS, University of Louisiana Monroe College of Pharmacy
  4. Crystal Burkhardt, Pharm.D., MBA, BCGP, FCCP, University of Kansas School of Pharmacy
  5. Valerie Clinard, Pharm.D., APh, FAPhA, University of California, San Francisco School of Pharmacy
  6. Nicole Culhane, Pharm.D., BCPS, Notre Dame of Maryland University School of Pharmacy
  7. Andrew Darley, Pharm.D., M.Ed., BCPS, University of Georgia College of Pharmacy
  8. Amy Diepenbrock, Ph.D., M.S., University of the Incarnate Word Feik School of Pharmacy
  9. Jingyang Fan, Pharm.D., BCPS, Southern Illinois University Edwardsville (SIUE) School of Pharmacy
  10. Julianna M. Fernandez, Pharm.D., BCPS, BCGP, University of Houston College of Pharmacy
  11. Nicholas M. Fusco, Pharm.D., The State University of New York at Buffalo School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences
  12. Muhammad J. Habib, M.Pharm., Ph.D., Howard University College of Pharmacy
  13. John Brock Harris, Pharm.D., BCPS, BCPPS, Wingate University School of Pharmacy
  14. Eliud Hernández, Ph.D., University of Puerto Rico School of Pharmacy
  15. Meredith Howard, Pharm.D., BCPS, University of North Texas Health Science Center College of Pharmacy
  16. Karunya K. Kandimalla, Ph.D., University of Minnesota College of Pharmacy
  17. Chrissa Kioussi, Ph.D., Oregon State University College of Pharmacy
  18. Pamela H. Koerner, B.S., Pharm.D., BCPS, Duquesne University School of Pharmacy
  19. Jennifer Malinowski, Pharm.D., Wilkes University Nesbitt School of Pharmacy
  20. Pamela M. Moye-Dickerson, Pharm.D., BCPS, AAHIVP, Mercer University College of Pharmacy
  21. Shankar Munusamy, M.Pharm., Ph.D., Drake University College of Pharmacy
  22. Jacob T. Painter, Pharm.D., MBA, Ph.D., University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences College of Pharmacy
  23. Dennis Parker, Pharm.D., Wayne State University Eugene Applebaum College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences
  24. Nathan Pope, Pharm.D., FAPhA, The University of Texas at Austin College of Pharmacy
  25. Vanishree Rajagopalan, M.Pharm., Ph.D., Touro University California College of Pharmacy
  26. Nathaniel (Nate) Rickles, Pharm.D., Ph.D., BCPP, FAPhA, University of Connecticut School of Pharmacy
  27. Christina Rose, Pharm.D., BCCCP, FCCM, Temple University School of Pharmacy
  28. Karen Smith, M.S., Ph.D., R.Ph., Regis University School of Pharmacy
  29. T. Lynn Stevenson, Pharm.D., BCPS, Auburn University Harrison College of Pharmacy
  30. Kayla R. Stover, Pharm.D., University of Mississippi School of Pharmacy
  31. Joseph M. Swanson, Pharm.D., FCCM, FCCP, The University of Tennessee Health Science Center College of Pharmacy
  32. Jonathan Thigpen, Pharm.D., Samford University McWhorter School of Pharmacy
  33. Justin A. Tolman, Pharm.D., Ph.D., Creighton University School of Pharmacy and Health Professions
  34. Sarah Vordenberg, Pharm.D., MPH, University of Michigan College of Pharmacy
  35. Kristina Ward, Pharm.D., BCPS, University of Rhode Island College of Pharmacy

Fellows are grouped into five teams with a Leadership Facilitator, who is a senior leader in health professions education and provides support and encouragement to group members.

The 2022-2023 Leadership Facilitators are:

Patricia Chase, Ph.D., B.S.Pharm, MSHA, Clinical Professor at the College of Pharmacy, Oregon State University

Daniel Hansen, Pharm.D., Dean of the College of Pharmacy & Allied Health Professions, South Dakota State University

Anne Lin, Pharm.D., FNAP, Dean of the School of Pharmacy, Notre Dame of Maryland University

Rae Matsumoto, Ph.D., Sc.D., B.S., Dean of the Thomas J. Long School of Pharmacy, University of the Pacific

Keith Olsen, Pharm.D., FCCP, FCCM, Dean of the College of Pharmacy, University of Nebraska Medical Center


For more information about the Academic Leadership Fellows Program, visit the AACP website