Emerging Teaching Scholar Award

AACP Resource

The AACP Council of Faculties (COF) Emerging Teaching Scholar Award is designed to recognize excellence of our academic pharmacy faculty engaged in and/or supporting scholarly teaching and the scholarship of teaching and learning. In recognizing service and outstanding contributions to our academy, pharmacy education and schools, the AACP COF Emerging Teaching Scholars will raise the bar for scholarly teaching and the scholarship of teaching and learning. Due to the prestigious nature of this award, up to five (5) AACP Emerging Teaching Scholars will be selected each year.

Open now for 2021–2022 submissions

Deadline for submissions is February 25, 2022 at midnight PST


Nominees may be any faculty academic rank at a college/schools of pharmacy. To be eligible for the award, nominees must:

  1. be a full member of the AACP Council of Faculties;
  2. have had at least three (3) scholarly works related to teaching and learning accepted in peer reviewed forums (e.g. peer-reviewed journal, peer-reviewed book or book chapter, peer-reviewed abstract for a poster or podium presentation at a professional meeting);
  3. be the first/primary author or creator of at least two (2) scholarly works related to teaching and learning; and
  4. must have NO MORE than 8 years since first publicly available scholarly work as a faculty member in the field of teaching and learning.

See complete award instructions and eligibility requirements and new tips for successful award packages.  

Review will be completed by a Council of Faculties committee using the evaluation criteria.  Award winners will be announced in Spring. The AACP Emerging Teaching Scholars will receive their recognition during the COF Business Meeting at the AACP Annual Meeting.

Contact Michelle Assa-Eley, AACP Director of Education, with questions regarding the nomination or submission process.

2021 Award Recipients

Lindsey Childs-Kean, Pharm.D., MPH, BCPS, University of Florida 

Cortney Mospan, Pharm.D., BCACP, BCGP, CPP, Wingate University 

Diane H. Quinn, Pharm.D., BCACP, as Philadelphia College of Pharmacy at University of the Sciences

Christopher S. Wisniewski, Pharm.D., MSCR, BCPS, Medical University of South Carolina 

2020 Award Recipients

Nicholas M. Fusco, Pharm.D., University of Buffalo, the State University of New York

Keri D. Hager, Pharm.D., BCACP, University of Minnesota

Adam Pate, Pharm.D., The University of Mississippi

Kathryn J. Smith, Pharm.D., BCACP, University of Florida

2019 Award Recipients

Ashley Castleberry, Pharm.D., University of Texas at Austin 

Krista Larson Donohoe, Pharm.D., BCPS, CGP, Virginia Commonwealth University 

Eliza Dy-Boarman, Pharm.D., Drake University 

Daniel R. Malcom, Pharm.D., BCPS, BCCP, Sullivan University 

Jessica W. Skelley, Pharm.D., BCACP,  Samford University 

2018 Award Recipients

Andrew Bzowyckyj, Pharm.D., University of Missouri, Kansas City

Jeanne Frenzel, Pharm.D., North Dakota State University

Daniel R. Kennedy, Ph.D., Western New England University

Conan MacDougall, Pharm.D., University of California, San Francisco

Karen R. Sando, Pharm.D., Nova Southeastern University

2017 Award Recipients

Robert D. Beckett, Pharm.D., BCPS, Manchester University

Michelle Z. Farland, Pharm.D., BCPS, CDE, University of Florida

Jacqueline E. McLaughlin, Ph.D., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Lauren A. O'Donnell, Ph.D., Duquesne University