Spring Institute 2018 Speakers

AACP Article

Cheryl Clarke, BPharm, R.Ph. FAPhA

Drake University College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences

Cheryl Clarke is Assistant Dean for Clinical Affairs and Associate Professor of Pharmacy Practice at the Drake University College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences. In these roles, she administers the experiential education programs for the Doctor of Pharmacy, Occupational Therapy Doctorate, and undergraduate health sciences programs. Teaching interests include patient safety and quality, social determinants of health, and student continuing professional development. Research interests include poverty simulation use and experiential education process improvements. Clarke was the recipient of the 2017 Granberg Professional Leadership Award and the 2017 Faculty Mentor of the Year Award. Prior to joining Drake, Clarke served in a variety of roles at the Iowa Pharmacy Association (IPA) including Senior Vice President of Professional and Public Affairs. Clarke has also practiced in a variety of settings including community, hospital, and ambulatory care clinic pharmacy. Clarke is an active member of a variety of professional associations including IPA where she is currently president-elect. Clarke is past president of the Iowa Rural Health Association and recipient of its Jerry Karbeling Award. Clarke is an APhA-APPM Fellow of the American Pharmacists Association and has served on various APhA policy committees and as House Delegate. Other professional affiliations include Phi Lambda Sigma Pharmacy Leadership Society, American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy, Lambda Kappa Sigma, and Rho Chi. Clarke is a 1986 summa cum laude graduate of the Drake University College of Pharmacy and is currently completing the Doctor of Education Leadership program at the Drake University School of Education.

Patti Darbishire, Pharm.D.

Purdue College of Pharmacy

Dr. Patti Darbishire is a Clinical Associate Professor in Pharmacy Practice and Director of the Introductory Pharmacy Practice Experience Program for the Purdue College of Pharmacy, where she teaches and/or mentors approximately 600 undergraduate and postgraduate students on an annual basis. Dr. Darbishire’s areas of expertise include course design and instruction with an emphasis on active learning techniques, service-learning, and interprofessional community engagement. She is a long standing Faculty Fellow with the Purdue Center for Instructional Excellence. In 2017, she was selected for the Teaching for Tomorrow Faculty Fellowship Award, where she was recognized for her long-term contributions to teaching, mentoring, and improving the learning environment for students and faculty. Her practice research focuses on current issues in community pharmacy and experiential education - the foundation for her scholarship, including 36 peer-reviewed publications. She has published three experiential workbooks for use in her courses, and with one in process for national publication. Dr. Darbishire is a nationally recognized speaker on the topics of experiential learning, service-learning and medication safety, with 25 invited presentations and webinars, and 71 educational poster presentations at professional organizations and associations. She is the Chair for the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy Experiential Education section, Editor of the Purdue Journal of Service-Learning and International Engagement, and an editorial board member for AJPE.

Eric H. Gilliam, Pharm.D., BCPS

University of Colorado Skaggs School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences

Eric Gilliam is an Assistant Professor of Clinical Pharmacy and serves as the Assistant Director of Experiential Programs at the University of Colorado Skaggs School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences in Aurora Colorado. Eric also serves as Director of Clinical Interprofessional Programing within the CU Anschutz Medical Campus Center for Interprofessional Practice and Education. In these roles, Eric oversees the development of various clinical education initiatives involving more 1200 learners across seven health profession training programs located on the Anschutz Campus. His scholarly interests in curricular design and assessment strategies for interprofessional and experiential based learning. Prior to entering academia, Eric practiced as an Emergency Medicine Pharmacy Specialist. He earned his Doctor of Pharmacy at Butler University College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences, and completed residency training with the University of New Mexico College of Pharmacy and Rutgers University School of Pharmacy. He currently serves as an EM Pharmacy Specialist at Denver Health Medical Center, a safety-net health system for Denver’s urban and underserved population.

Jean Moon, Pharm.D., BCACP

University of Minnesota College of Pharmacy

Dr. Moon is an associate professor in the Department of Pharmaceutical Care & Health System for the University of Minnesota College of Pharmacy and clinical faculty and preceptor for the North Memorial Family Medicine Residency Program (Department of Family Medicine and Community Health, University of Minnesota School of Medicine). Dr. Moon also serves as the Program Director for the College of Pharmacy Post-graduate (PGY1) Pharmacy Residency Program and the Ambulatory Care APPE Course Director. Dr. Moon’s research interests include SOTL in peer review for learners and clinical faculty and in experiential education instructional design. Jean Moon's clinical areas of interest include pulmonary medicine, women's health, motivational interviewing, and interprofessional practice.