Award for Excellence in Assessment

AACP Resource

The Award for Excellence in Assessment recognizes outstanding Doctor of Pharmacy assessment programs for their progress in developing and applying evidence of outcomes as part of the ongoing evaluation and improvement of pharmacy professional education. Recipients of this award are provided with an opportunity to present their work during a special session at the AACP Annual Meeting in July of each year. Up to three awards are given and each winning applicant (or team) is provided a $1200 stipend to cover the costs of registration, travel, and accommodations associated with attending the annual meeting.

Applications are no longer being accepted for the 2019 Award for Excellence in Assessment.  

Application Information

Manuscripts will be prepared in accordance with guidelines for publication. While submitting for the Award for Excellence in Assessment does not guarantee publication in AJPE, authors are strongly encouraged to submit their manuscripts to the peer review process as a research article or a research brief. For more information, please review the eligibility and instructions and the evaluation criteria.  

If you have any questions, please contact Michelle Assa-Eley.

2019 Honorable Mention

Philadelphia College of Pharmacy at the University of the Sciences

Lisa Charneski, PharmD, BCPS, Suzanne Carbonaro, M.Ed., MS, CE School Administrator, Laura A. Mandos, BS, PharmD, BCPP, Tyan Thomas, PharmD, MS (Medical Education) Candidate, BCPS, Sarah Kleinfeld, M.Ed., Jesse Swartz, M.Ed., Islam M. Ghazi, PharmD,M.Sc., BCPS, BCACP, Karen J. Tietze, BS, PharmD, Jane F. Bowen, PharmD, BCPS

A Multimodal Real-Time Assessment Process and Its Impact on Student Achievement and
Progression in the First Year of a Doctor of Pharmacy Program

Past Award Recipients


Mercer University College of Pharmacy
Maria Miller Thurston, Pharm.D., BCPS, Jill Augustine, Pharm.D., Ph.D., MPH, Lea Bonner, Pharm.D.
Multimodal assessment of a co-curricular professional engagement program

University of Colorado Skaggs School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences
Eric H. Gilliam, PharmD, Jason M. Brunner, PhD, Wesley Nuffer, PharmD, Toral C Patel, PharmD, Megan E. Thompson, PharmD,
Unique Assessments for Unique Experiences: Content Validation of Three Assessment Tools for Advanced Pharmacy Practice Experience Rotations

Honorable Mention

The University of Iowa
Mary Elizabeth Ray, Pharm.D.,Lisa DuBrava, Mary Starry
Leveraging a Required E-Portfolio Course to Meet Multiple Needs: Student Assessment, Curricular Improvement, and Accreditation

Oregon State University
Tanya L Ostrogorsky, Ed.D., and Gary E. DeLander, R.Ph., Ph.D.
Gatekeeper or Facilitator: Empowering Students to Optimize Experiential Learning through Structured Summative and Formative Assessments


UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy
Adam M. Persky, Ph.D., Jessica M. Greene, Pharm.D., Tom Angelo, Ed.D., Heidi Anksorus, Pharm.D.,
Kathryn Fuller, Pharm.D., Jacqueline E. McLaughlin, Ph.D., M.S.
Developing an Innovative, Comprehensive First-1 Year Capstone to Assess and Improve Student Learning and Curriculum Effectiveness

Southern Illinois University Edwardsville
Therese I Poirier, Pharm.D., MPH, Miranda Wilhelm, Pharm.D., Katie Ronald, Pharm.D., Jingyang Fan, Pharm.D.
A Programmatic Model for Student and Faculty Assessment of Interprofessional Education Simulation Training

University of Pittsburgh
Neal Benedict, Pharm.D., Pamela Smithburger, Pham.D., M.S., Amy Calabese Donihi, Pharm.D., Philip Empey, Pharm.D., Ph.D., Lawrence Kobulinsky, Amy Seybert, Pharm.D., Thomas Waters, Scott Drab, Pharm.D., John Lutzz, B.S.*, Deborah Farkas, Ph.D.*, Susan Meyer, Ph.D. (*WISER Education and Simulation Facility)
Blended Simulation Progress Testing for Assessment of Practice Readiness Past Award Recipients


Pacific University Oregon School of Pharmacy
David G. Fuentes, Jeremy A. Hughes, Anita J. Cleven, Jackson Ross, Fawzy Elbarbry, Ian C. Doyle, Mark A. Della Paolera, Brendan Stamper, Kelli Cadelinia
PIE-RECAP: A Structured Reflective Journal Writing Model and Rubric to Guide Development of Self-Awareness and Actionable Plans for Positive Change

Northeastern University School of Pharmacy
Jennifer Kirwin, Margarita DiVall, Danielle Miller
Evaluation of a Systematic Curriculum Review Process and Impact on the Pharmacy Curriculum

University of Illinois at Chicago College of Pharmacy
Kate Aument, Rosalyn P. Vellurattil
Programmatic Evaluation and Quality Improvement: Designing and Implementing a Systematic
Process for Assessing and Improving Faculty Peer Observations


Concordia University Wisconsin School of Pharmacy
Nicia Lemoine, Tamara Ferry, Michael Brown
Embedded Assessment: A Three Step Model for Continuous Improvement

University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences College of Pharmacy
Ashley Castleberry, Kathryn K. Neill (UAMS), Cindy D. Stowe (Sullivan University College of Pharmacy)
CHARMing Feedback in Authentic Assessment

University of Wisconsin-Madison School of Pharmacy
Beth A. Martin, Sarah E. Kuba, Michael E. Pitterle
Outcome Tracker: A System of Embedded Assessments


California Northstate University College of Pharmacy (Abstract)
Leanne Coyne, Karen McClendon, Parto Khansari, Tiffanie Ho, David Pearson

The University of Georgia College of Pharmacy (Abstract)
Michael J. Fulford, Lindsey Welch

University of Maryland School of Pharmacy (Abstract)
Lisa Lebovitz, Richard Dalby


The Ohio State University College of Pharmacy
Stuart J. Beatty, Katherine A. Kelley

The University of Rhode Island College of Pharmacy
Norma J. Owens, Celia P. MacDonnell, Marilyn M. Barbour, Eunsun Noh

St. John Fisher College Wegmans School of Pharmacy
Jane M. Souza, Jennifer L. Mathews, Richard F. O'Brocta


University of Minnesota
Kristin K. Janke

The University of Oklahoma
Melissa S. Medina

University of Pittsburgh
Susan M. Meyer


Northeastern University
Margarita V. Divall


Drake University College of Pharmacy
Charles R. Phillips

Pacific University Oregon College of Pharmacy
Pauline A. Cawley


Wingate University School of Pharmacy
Greg L. Alston, Bryan L. Love

Touro University California College of Pharmacy
Mitchell J. Barnett, Karl Meszaros, Karna McDonald, Heidi Wehring, David J. Evans, Debra S. Sasaki-Hill, Paul C. Goldsmith, Katherine K. Knapp

Auburn University Harrison School of Pharmacy
Sharon McDonough, Kristen L. Helms, Paul W. Jungnickel, E. Kelly Hester, Jan Kavookjian