Innovation in Teaching Award

AACP Resource

The Innovation in Teaching Award recognizes innovative teaching and learning strategies and assessment methods and provides an opportunity to engage faculty in a process of documenting their scholarly approach to teaching and learning. One recipient (individual or team) will be selected and provided an opportunity to present their work during a session at the AACP Annual Meeting in July of each year. The faculty/team selected to present their innovations will be provided a stipend of up to $2500 to defray the costs (registration, travel and accommodations) associated with attending the Annual Meeting.

The Council of Faculties invites applications from active and affiliate individual AACP members in the form of course or learning portfolios describing innovative approaches to the teaching/learning or assessment processes in a course, a component of a course, or continuing professional education, residency or preceptor education, or faculty development. The innovation submitted must be in place and operating as part of the college or school professional curriculum or continuing professional education program, residency or preceptor education or faculty development. Winners and co-authors selected in the past three years ineligible to compete.


No Longer Accepting Submissions



2024 Award Recipient

Katherine Newman and Tessa Keys
Southern Illinois University Edwardsville
Making an “ImPaCT (Improving Patient Care for Tomorrow)”: A longitudinal, required innovation curriculum to address practice-based problems

2023 Award Recipient

Laura M. Fox
Presbyterian College
Learning Logs: A Tool for Training Students to Assess and Regulate Their Own Learning

2022 Award Recipient

Daniel T Malone, Kirsten J Galbraith, Kayley M Lyons, Tina P Brock, Ian C Larson, Paul J White, Vivienne Mak, Harjit Singh, and Marian Costelloe
Faculty of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences, Monash University
A Comprehensive Instructional Model to Develop a Transformed Pharmacy Degree

2021 Award Recipient

Stephanie L. Hsia and Rupa L. Tuan
University of California, San Francisco (UCSF) School of Pharmacy
A Remote Health Equity Curriculum: Teaching Pharmacy Students to be Advocates for Social Justice

2020 Award Recipient

Sean Nebergall, Colleen Dula, Stacy King, David Matthews, Kristy Jackson, John (JD) Bickel, and Anna Haas-Gehres
The Ohio State University
Patient Voices: Practicing with Intent

Honorable Mention:

Megan Willson, Kimberly McKeirnan, Jennifer Robinson, Christina Buchman, and Julie Akers
Washington State University College of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences
Training Student Pharmacists in Suicide Awareness and Prevention


View Past Recipients