Rufus A. Lyman Award

AACP Resource

The Rufus A. Lyman Award is presented annually to the author(s) of the best paper published in the American Journal of Pharmaceutical Education.

Selection Criteria

  • Papers considered for the Lyman Award include manuscripts representing original research and/or other scholarly work that have been published in regular issues 1 to 10 of the preceding year/volume of the American Journal of Pharmaceutical Education. Addresses of Association officers, editorials, reports or papers commissioned by AACP are not considered. Papers that have been previously published or published in substantially the same form before are not eligible for the award. Papers in AJPE's publication ahead-of-print (PAP) section are not eligible.
  • Manuscripts will be judged by the following criteria:
    a. Utility and significance to pharmacy education
    b. Originality
    c. Research methodology and Analysis
    d. Writing style

Method of Selection

  • Nominations for the Lyman Award may come from three sources: a) the chair of each section with consultation with the administrative board of that section; b) a member of the Editorial Advisory Board; and c) members of the Lyman Award Committee.
  • The Lyman Award Committee is composed of the editor of AJPE, the recipient of the award from the previous year, and five members appointed by the president. The editor will serve as chair of the committee. An alternate will also be appointed each year in the event a member’s paper is under consideration.
  • At the conclusion of the evaluation process, the Lyman Award Committee will recommend the paper that has garnered the most number of votes to the AACP Board of Directors for the award. The committee may recommend that the award not be presented in any given year.

The 2020 Lyman Award Task Force created a guidance document that the Lyman Selection Committee may use when selecting the award-winning paper (Appendix 1).


The award shall consist of a monetary prize of $5,000 and an appropriately inscribed plaque. If the paper selected is authored by more than one person, the $5,000 shall be divided equally and each author shall receive a plaque. Recipients are honored during the AACP Annual Meeting.

Past Award Recipients


"A Historical Discourse Analysis of Pharmacist Identity in Pharmacy Education"

Authors: Jamie Kellar, Pharm.D; Elise Paradis, Ph.D; Cees P.M. van der Vleuten, Ph.D; Mirjam G.A. oude Egbrink, Ph.D; Zubin Austin, Ph.D, MISc

Institutions: University of Toronto (Canada) and Maastricht University (Netherlands)


"Aiding Transformation from Student to Practitioner by Defining Threshold Concepts for the Pharmacists’ Patient Care Process"

Authors: Claire Kolar, Pharm.D, Ph.D and Kristin K. Janke, Ph.D

Institution: University of Minnesota


"Assessing Students Impressions of the Cultural Awareness of Pharmacy Faculty and Students"

Authors: Nicholas G. Popovich, Ph.D.; Clara Okorie-Awé, Ph.D., Ed.D.; Stephanie Y. Crawford, Ph.D.; Fabricio E. Balcazar, Ph.D.; Rosalyn P. Vellurattil, Pharm.D.; Terry W. Moore, Ph.D.; Allison E. Schriever, Pharm.D.

Institution: University of Illinois at Chicago


"Blended Simulation Progress Testing for Assessment of Practice Readiness"

Authors: Neal Benedict, Pharm.D.; Pamela Smithburger, Pharm.D., M.S.; Amy Calabrese Donihi, Pharm.D.; Philip Empey, Pharm.D., Ph.D.; Lawrence Kobulinsky; Amy Seybert, Pharm.D.; Thomas Waters; Scott Drab, Pharm.D.; John Lutz, B.S; Deborah Farkas, Ph.D.; Susan Meyer, Ph.D.

Institutions: University of Pittsburgh and WISER Education and Simulation Facility, Pittsburgh


Development and Application of a Stepwise Assessment Process for Rational Redesign of Sequential Skills-Based Courses
Authors: Casey E. Gallimore, Pharm.D.; Andrea L. Porter, Pharm.D.; and Susanne G. Barnett, Pharm.D. 

Institution: University of Wisconsin-Madison


Towards an Operational Definition of Clinical Competency in Pharmacy
Authors: L. Douglas Ried, Ph.D. and Charles A. Douglas, Ph.D., MBA

Institutions: University of Texas at Tyler and Texas A&M University 


Is a Pharmacy Student the Customer or the Product?
Author: David A. Holdford, Ph.D.

Institution: Virginia Commonwealth University


"Development and Validation of the Student Perceptions of Physician-Pharmacist Interprofessional Clinical Education (SPICE) Instrument"
Authors: David S. Fike, Ph.D.; Joseph A. Zorek, Pharm.D.; Anitra A. MacLaughlin, Pharm.D.; Mohammed Samiuddin, M.D.; Rodney B. Young, M.D.; and Eric J. MacLaughlin, Pharm.D.

Institutions: University of the Incarnate Word, University of Wisconsin-Madison, and Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center


For all the past Lyman Award recipients, visit AJPE.