Virtual Pharmacy Education 2021 - Speakers


Opening General Session

Combatting Anti-Science Thinking

Monday, July 19 - 10:00 a.m.–11:30 a.m.

In this session, Mary Woolley, president and CEO of Research!America, will lead a conversation with Georges C. Benjamin, executive director of the American Public Health Association and Bruce Gellin, chief of global public health strategy at The Rockefeller Foundation. The panel will address the disturbing trends in anti-science thinking and ongoing efforts within their organizations to address it. The panel will share specific ways colleges and schools of pharmacy, their faculty, and students can join with efforts to combat the anti-science movement.

AACP President Anne Y. Lin will share strategic milestones on the work of the Association and present the Lifetime Achievement Award and the Distinguished Teaching Scholar Award.


Mary Woolley
CEO & President 

Mary Woolley is the president of Research!America, an alliance that advocates for science, discovery, and innovation to achieve better health for all. Woolley is an elected member of the National Academy of Medicine and served two terms on its Governing Council. She is a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science and serves on the National Academy of Sciences Board on Higher Education and the Workforce, having previously served on the Board of Life Sciences. She is a founding member of the Board of Associates of the Whitehead Institute for Biomedical Research and the Pritzker School of Medicine Council. Woolley holds honorary doctoral degrees from Wayne State University and the Northeast Ohio Medical University (NEOMED).


Georges C. Benjamin, M.D.
Executive Director 
American Public Health Association

Georges C. Benjamin, M.D., is a well-known health policy leader, practitioner and administrator. He currently serves as the executive director of the American Public Health Association, the nation's oldest and largest organization of public health professionals. He is also a former secretary of health for the state of Maryland. Dr. Benjamin is a graduate of the Illinois Institute of Technology and the University of Illinois College of Medicine. He is board-certified in internal medicine, a Master of the American College of Physicians, a fellow of the National Academy of Public Administration, a fellow emeritus of the American College of Emergency Physicians, and a member of the National Academy of Medicine.


Bruce Gellin, M.D., M.P.H.
Chief of Global Public Health Strategy
The Rockefeller Foundation

Bruce Gellin, M.D. M.P.H., is chief of global public health strategy at The Rockefeller Foundation. Dr. Gellin previously served as the deputy assistant secretary for health and director of the National vaccine program office at the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), where he was the principal advisor to the assistant secretary for health on vaccine and immunization programs and policies. Dr. Gellin also represented HHS as a technical and policy advisor to the World Health Organization with a focus on influenza and vaccine hesitancy and as a contributor to the Decade of Vaccines Collaboration and the Global Action Vaccine Action Plan (GVAP). 

2021 Lifetime Achievement Award

2021 Recipient

Victoria F. Roche, Ph.D.
Creighton University

Presented by

Anne Y. Lin, Pharm.D.
2020–2021 AACP President
Dean and Professor
Notre Dame of Maryland University
School of Pharmacy

Closing General Session

The How of Happiness: Boosting Well-Being Through Kindness, Gratitude, and Connection

Thursday, July 22 - 4:00 p.m.–5:30 p.m.

During both normal times and challenging circumstances like today, most people around the world report wanting to be happy. Happiness not only feels good, however; it is good. Relative to their less happy peers, happy people are more creative, productive, and helpful; have more stable marriages and higher incomes; and boast stronger immune systems. Fortunately, decades of research suggest that individuals can deliberately increase their own happiness by creating and maintaining new habits. In this talk, Dr. Lyubomirsky will introduce the “positive activity model,” which describes the “how” and “why” of happiness—that is, the conditions under which such practices as gratitude or kindness work “best” and how small and simple activities can transform people into happier, healthier, more connected, and more flourishing individuals.

This session also recognizes the recipients of the Distinguished Service Award and the Rufus A. Lyman Award.


Sonja Lyubomirsky, Ph.D.
Distinguished Professor and Vice Chair of Psychology
University of California, Riverside
Author of The How of Happiness and The Myths of Happiness

Sonja Lyubomirsky, Ph.D., is distinguished professor and vice chair of psychology at the University of California, Riverside and author of The How of Happiness and The Myths of Happiness (published in 36 countries). She received her B.A. summa cum laude from Harvard University and her Ph.D. in social psychology from Stanford University. Dr. Lyubomirsky and her research on the science of happiness have been the recipients of many grants and honors, including the Diener Award for Outstanding Midcareer Contributions in Personality Psychology, the Christopher J. Peterson Gold Medal, the Distinguished Research Lecturer Award, and a Positive Psychology Prize. She lives in Santa Monica, California, with her family.

Distinguished Service Award

2021 Recipient

Laura Cranston, R.Ph.
Co-founder and former Chief Executive Officer
Pharmacy Quality Alliance

Presented by

Anne Y. Lin, Pharm.D.
2020–2021 AACP President
Dean and Professor
Notre Dame of Maryland University
School of Pharmacy

Rufus A. Lyman Award

2021 Winning Paper

"A Historical Discourse Analysis of Pharmacist Identity in Pharmacy Education"

Jamie Kellar, Pharm.D., University of Toronto, Canada
Elis Paradis, Ph.D., University of Toronto, Canada
Cees P.M. van der Vleuten, Ph.D., Maastricht University, Netherlands
Mirjam G.A. oude Egbrink, Ph.D., Maastricht University, Netherlands
Zubin Austin, Ph.D., MISc, University of Toronto, Canada